Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials
Founded at 2009


Simulation of structure of LiNbO3 crystals grown with using of B2O3 flux

R.A. Titov, V.M. Voskresenskiy, N.V. Sidorov, N.A. Teplyakova, M.N. Palatnikov

Tananaev Institute of Chemistry  Subdivision of the Federal Research Centre «Kola Science Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences»

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.206

Short communication

Abstract: It is shown that the B3+ element  is able to incorporate into the facets of oxygen tetrahedra of LiNbO3 crystal structure ( [BO3]3- group) in a trace amounts (≈10-4  wt. %). In this case, boron noticeably distorts the anion sublattice of the crystal, changing the lengths of the <O – O> bonds, increasing the ordering of structural units of the cation sublattice. At the same time, boron changes the polarizability of the oxygen-octahedral MeO6 clusters (Me – Li, Nb) which determines the ferroelectric and nonlinear optical properties of the crystal.

Keywords: single crystal, lithium niobate, boron oxide, infrared absorption, Raman spectroscopy, computer simulation

  • Roman A. Titov – postgraduate student, Tananaev Institute of Chemistry  Subdivision of the Federal Research Centre «Kola Science Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences»
  • Vyacheslav M. Voskresenskiy – Senior Engineer of Sector of Vibrational Spectroscopy of Materials of Electronic Engineering Laboratory, Tananaev Institute of Chemistry  Subdivision of the Federal Research Centre «Kola Science Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences»
  • Nikolay V. Sidorov – Dr. Sc., Professor, Chief Researcher and as Head of Sector of Vibrational Spectroscopy of Materials of Electronic Engineering Laboratory, Tananaev Institute of Chemistry  Subdivision of the Federal Research Centre «Kola Science Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences»
  • Natalya A. Teplyakova – Ph. D., Senior Researcher of Sector of Vibrational Spectroscopy of Materials of Electronic Engineering Laboratory, Tananaev Institute of Chemistry  Subdivision of the Federal Research Centre «Kola Science Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences»
  • Mikhail N. Palatnikov – Dr. Sc., Chief Researcher and as Head of Materials of Electronic Engineering Laboratory, Tananaev Institute of Chemistry  Subdivision of the Federal Research Centre «Kola Science Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences»

Reference:

Titov, R.A. Simulation of structure of LiNbO3 crystals grown with using of B2O3 flux / R.A. Titov, V.M. Voskresenskiy, N.V. Sidorov, N.A. Teplyakova, M.N. Palatnikov // Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials. – Tver: TSU, 2020. — I. 12. — P. 206-212. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.206. (In Russian).

Full article (in Russian): download PDF file

⇐ Prevoius journal article | Content | Next journal article ⇒

Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов
Основан в 2009 году


Моделирование структуры кристаллов LiNbO3, выращенных с применением флюса B2O3

Р.А. Титов, В.М. Воскресенский, Н.В. Сидоров, Н.А. Теплякова, М.H. Палатников

Институт химии и технологии редких элементов и минерального сырья им. И.В. Тананаева – обособленное подразделение ФГБУН Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук»

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.206

Краткое сообщение

Аннотация: Показано, что элемент B3+ в следовых количествах (≈10-4 масс. %) может встраиваться в составе группы [BO3]3- в грани кислородных тетраэдров кристаллической структуры LiNbO3. При этом бор заметно искажает анионный каркас кристалла, изменяя длины <O - O> связей, улучшает упорядочение структурных единиц катионной подрешетки, изменяет поляризуемость кислородно-октаэдрических кластеров MeO6 (Me - Li, Nb), определяющую сегнетоэлектрические и нелинейно-оптические свойства кристалла.

Ключевые слова: монокристалл, ниобат лития, оксид бора, ИК-спектроскопия поглощения, комбинационное рассеяние света, компьютерное моделирование

  • Титов Роман Алексеевич – аспирант Институт химии и технологии редких элементов и минерального сырья им. И.В. Тананаева – обособленное подразделение ФГБУН Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук»
  • Воскресенский Вячеслав Михайлович – старший инженер сектора колебательной спектроскопии лаборатории материалов электронной техники Институт химии и технологии редких элементов и минерального сырья им. И.В. Тананаева – обособленное подразделение ФГБУН Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук»
  • Сидоров Николай Васильевич – д.ф.-м.н., профессор, главный научный сотрудник с исполнением обязанностей заведующего сектором колебательной спектроскопии лаборатории материалов электронной техники Институт химии и технологии редких элементов и минерального сырья им. И.В. Тананаева – обособленное подразделение ФГБУН Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук»
  • Теплякова Наталья Александровна – к.ф.-м.н., старший научный сотрудник сектора колебательной спектроскопии лаборатории материалов электронной техники Институт химии и технологии редких элементов и минерального сырья им. И.В. Тананаева – обособленное подразделение ФГБУН Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук»
  • Палатников Михаил Николаевич – д.т.н., главный научный сотрудник с сохранением обязанностей заведующего лабораторией материалов электронной техники Институт химии и технологии редких элементов и минерального сырья им. И.В. Тананаева – обособленное подразделение ФГБУН Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук»

Ссылка на статью:

Титов, Р.А. Моделирование структуры кристаллов LiNbO3, выращенных с применением флюса B2O3 / Р.А. Титов, В.М. Воскресенский, Н.В. Сидоров, Н.А. Теплякова, М.H. Палатников // Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов. — Тверь: Твер. гос. ун-т, 2020. — Вып. 12. — С. 206-212. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.206.

Полный текст: download PDF file

Библиографический список:

1. Sidorov, N.V. Structural features, physicochemical, and optical characteristics of lithium niobate crystals grown from boron-doped melts / N.V. Sidorov, N.A. Teplyakova, R.A. Titov, M.N. Palatnikov // Technical Physics. – 2018. – V. 63. – I. 12. – P. 1762-1770. DOI: 10.1134/S1063784218120198.
2. Sidorov, N.V. Photovoltaic fields and the secondary structure of nominally pure lithium niobate crystals grown from a boron-doped furnace charge / N.V. Sidorov, N.A. Teplyakova, R.A. Titov, M.N. Palatnikov // Technical Physics. – 2020. – V. 90. – I. 4. – P. 652-659. DOI: 10.1134/S1063784220040192.
3. Shannon, R.D. Revised effective ionic radii and systematic studies of interatomic distances in halides and chalcogenides / R.D. Shannon // Acta Crystallographica. – 1976. – V. 32. – I. 5. – P. 751-767. DOI: 10.1107/S0567739476001551.
4. Кузьминов, Ю.С. Электрооптический и нелинейно-оптический кристалл ниобата лития / Ю.С. Кузьминов. – М.: Наука, 1987. – 264 с.
5. Abrahams, S.C. Ferroelectric lithium niobate. 5. Polycrystal X-ray diffraction study between 24° and 1200°С / S.C. Abrahams, H.J. Levinstein, J.M. Reddy // Journal of Physics and Chemistry of Solids. – 1966. – V. 27. – I. 6-7. – P. 1019-1026. DOI: 10.1016/0022-3697(66)90074-6.
6. Lehnert, H. A neutron powder investigation of the high-temperature structure and phase transition in stoichiometric LiNbO3 / H. Lehnert, H. Boysen, F. Frey, et. al. // Zeitschrift für Kristallographie. – 1997. – V. 212. – I. 10. – P. 712-719. DOI: 10.1524/zkri.1997.212.10.712.
7. Can, H. Subsolidus phase relations and the crystallization region of LiNbO3 in the system Li2O–B2O3–Nb2O5 / H. Can, W. Shichao, Y. Ning // Journal of Alloys and Compounds. – 2010. – V. 502. – I. 1. – P. 211-214. DOI: 10.1016/j.jallcom.2010.04.146.
8. Abdi, F. Influence of Zn doping on electrooptical properties and structure parameters of lithium niobate crystals / F. Abdi, M. Aillerie, M. Fontana, et. al. // Applied Physics B. – 1999. – V. 68. – I. 5. – P. 795-799. DOI: 10.1007/s003400050706.