Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials
Founded at 2009


Calculation of the point defect concentration of the cation sublattice and hydroxyl groups in lithium niobate crystals of different composition

N.A. Teplyakova, N.V. Sidorov, M.N. Palatnikov

Tananaev Institute of Chemistry -  Subdivision of the Federal Research Centre «Kola Science Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences»

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.200

Short communication

Abstract: The IR absorption spectra in the region of stretching vibrations of OH-groups of lithium niobate crystals of stoichiometric and congruent compositions are studied. The results of calculations of the OH-groups concentration, the Li / Nb ratio and the concentration of point defects NbLi and VLi coincide with the literature data. The phase diagram of lithium niobate confirms these results. It is shown that an increase in the number of free protons that contribute to conductivity can lead to reducing the optical damage and higher electrical conductivity and the rate of thermal fixation of holograms.

Keywords: single crystal, lithium niobate, defects, IR absorption spectra, stretching vibrations of OH-group

  • Natalya A. Teplyakova – Ph. D., Senior Researcher of Sector of Vibrational Spectroscopy of Materials of Electronic Engineering Laboratory, Tananaev Institute of Chemistry -  Subdivision of the Federal Research Centre «Kola Science Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences»
  • Nikolay V. Sidorov – Dr. Sc., Professor, Chief Researcher and as Head of Sector of Vibrational Spectroscopy of Materials of Electronic Engineering Laboratory, Tananaev Institute of Chemistry -  Subdivision of the Federal Research Centre «Kola Science Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences»
  • Mikhail N. Palatnikov – Dr. Sc., Chief Researcher and as Head of Materials of Electronic Engineering Laboratory, Tananaev Institute of Chemistry -  Subdivision of the Federal Research Centre «Kola Science Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences»

Reference:

Teplyakova, N.A. Calculation of the point defect concentration of the cation sublattice and hydroxyl groups in lithium niobate crystals of different composition / N.A. Teplyakova, N.V. Sidorov, M.N. Palatnikov // Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials. – Tver: TSU, 2020. — I. 12. — P. 200-205. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.200. (In Russian).

Full article (in Russian): download PDF file

⇐ Prevoius journal article | Content | Next journal article ⇒

Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов
Основан в 2009 году


Расчет концентрации точечных дефектов катионной подрешетки и гидроксильных групп в кристаллах ниобата лития разного состава

Н.А. Теплякова, Н.В. Сидоров, М.Н. Палатников

Институт химии и технологии редких элементов и минерального сырья им. И.В. Тананаева – обособленное подразделение ФГБУН Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук»

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.200

Краткое сообщение

Аннотация: Исследованы ИК-спектры поглощения в области валентных колебаний OH-групп кристаллов ниобата лития стехиометрического и конгруэнтного составов. Рассчитана концентрация OH-групп, отношение Li / Nb, а также концентрация точечных дефектов NbLi и VLi. Результаты расчетов совпадают с литературными данными и подтверждаются фазовой диаграммой ниобата лития. Показано, что увеличение количества свободных протонов (вносящих вклад в проводимость) может обуславливать более высокие электропроводность, скорость термической фиксации голограмм и снижение эффекта фоторефракции.

Ключевые слова: монокристалл, ниобат лития, дефекты, ИК-спектры поглощения, валентные колебания OH-групп

  • Теплякова Наталья Александровна – к.ф.-м.н., старший научный сотрудник сектора колебательной спектроскопии лаборатории материалов электронной техники Институт химии и технологии редких элементов и минерального сырья им. И.В. Тананаева – обособленное подразделение ФГБУН Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук»
  • Сидоров Николай Васильевич – д.ф.-м.н., профессор, главный научный сотрудник с исполнением обязанностей заведующего сектором колебательной спектроскопии лаборатории материалов электронной техники Институт химии и технологии редких элементов и минерального сырья им. И.В. Тананаева – обособленное подразделение ФГБУН Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук»
  • Палатников Михаил Николаевич – д.т.н., главный научный сотрудник с сохранением обязанностей заведующего лабораторией материалов электронной техники Институт химии и технологии редких элементов и минерального сырья им. И.В. Тананаева – обособленное подразделение ФГБУН Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук»

Ссылка на статью:

Теплякова, Н.А. Расчет концентрации точечных дефектов катионной подрешетки и гидроксильных групп в кристаллах ниобата лития разного состава / Н.А. Теплякова, Н.В. Сидоров, М.Н. Палатников // Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов. — Тверь: Твер. гос. ун-т, 2020. — Вып. 12. — С. 200-205. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.200.

Полный текст: download PDF file

Библиографический список:

1. Сидоров, Н.В. Ниобат лития: дефекты, фоторефракция, колебательный спектр, поляритоны / Н.В. Сидоров, Т.Р. Волк, Б.Н. Маврин, В.Т. Калинников. – М.: Наука, 2003. – 255 с.
2. Volk, T. Lithium niobate. Defects, photorefraction and ferroelectric switching / T. Volk, M. Wohlecke. – Berlin: Springer, 2008. – 250 p. DOI: 10.1007/978-3-540-70766-0.
3. Cabrera, J.M. Hydrogen in lithium niobate / J.M. Cabrera, J. Olivares, M. Carrascosa, et al. // Advances in Physics. – 1996. – V. 45. – I. 5. – P. 349-392. DOI: 10.1080/00018739600101517.
4. Палатников, М.Н. Фундаментальные аспекты технологии сильно легированных кристаллов ниобата лития / М.Н. Палатников, Н.В.Сидоров, О.В.Макарова, И.В. Бирюкова. – Апатиты: КНЦ РАН, 2017. –241 с.
5. Lеngyel, K. Growth, defect structure, and THz application of stoichiometric lithium niobate / K. Lengyel, Á. Péter, L. Kovács,et al. // Applied Physics Reviews. – 2015. – V. 2. – I. 4.–Р. 040601-1-040601-28. DOI: /10.1063/1.4929917.
6. Iyi, N. Comparative study of defect structures in lithium niobate with different compositions / N. Iyi, K. Kitamura, F. Izumi, et al. // Journal of Solid State Chemistry. − 1992. − V. 101. − I. 2.− P. 340-352. DOI: 10.1016/0022-4596(92)90189-3.
7. Dravecz, G. Determination of the crystal composition from the OH – vibrational spectrum in lithium niobate / G. Dravecz, L.Kovács // Applied Physics B: Lasers and Optics.– 2007. – V. 88. – I. 2.– Р. 305-307. DOI: 10.1007/s00340-007-2704-9.
8. Саллум, М.И. Исследование состава кристаллов ниобата лития методами оптической спектроскопии / М.И. Саллум, О.С. Грунский, А.А. Маньшина и др. // Известия РАН. Серия химическая.– 2009.– Т. 73.– № 11.– С. 2162-2166.
9. Klauer, S. Influence of the H – D isotopic substitution on the protonic conductivity in LiNbO3 crystal / S. Klauer, M. Wöhlecke, S. Kapphan // Physical Review B. – 1992. – V. 45. – I. 6. – P. 2786-2799. DOI: 10.1103/physrevb.45.2786.