Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials
Founded at 2009


Influence of the polyethylene glycol molecular mass on thermal transitions of nanosized copper oxide

M.A. Yasnaya1, A.V. Blinov1, A.B. Golik1, D.G. Maglakelidze1, A.A. Gvozdenko1, A.A. Kravtsov1,2, A.A. Blinova1

1 North-Caucasus Federal University
2 Federal Research Center The Southern Scientific Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.937

Original article

Abstract: In this work, samples of nanosized copper oxide stabilized with polyethylene glycol of various grades with molecular weights from 200 to 6000 Da were obtained. The crystal structure of the samples was investigated by X-ray diffractometry. As a result of the XRD analysis, it was found that the samples have a monoclinic crystal lattice with space group C2/c . The effect of the molecular weight of the polymer on the size of nanoparticles was studied by the photon correlation spectroscopy method. Analysis of the results showed the presence of one fraction of particles in all samples, the size distribution was monomodal. It was found that the molecular weight of polyethylene glycol has an effect on the CuO particle size in colloidal solutions, while the phase composition and crystallite size remain unchanged. The average hydrodynamic radius of CuO particles in the obtained samples was about 140±40 nm. The smallest hydrodynamic radius of 70±15 nm was observed in a sample of nanosized copper oxide stabilized with polyethylene glycol with a molecular weight of 6000 Da. The effect of stabilizers with different molecular weights on the phase transitions of samples during heat treatment was investigated by the synchronous thermal analysis. As a result of thermal analysis, it was found that the optimum temperature for calcining nanosized CuO powders was 500°C.

Keywords: copper oxide (II), polyethylene glycol, synchronous thermal analysis, XRD, photon correlation spectroscopy

  • Mariya A. Yasnaya – Ph. D., Docent, Department of Electronics and Nanotechnology of the Engineering Institute, North-Caucasus Federal University
  • Andrey V. Blinov – Ph. D., Docent, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North-Caucasus Federal University
  • Alexey B. Golik – 4th year student, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North-Caucasus Federal University
  • David G. Maglakelidze – 2nd year student, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North-Caucasus Federal University
  • Аlexey A. Gvozdenko – 4th year student, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North-Caucasus Federal University
  • Aleksandr A. Kravtsov – Ph. D., Researcher, Scientific-research Laboratory of Ceramics and Technochemistry, Scientific-laboratory Complex of Clean Rooms, Physics and Technology Faculty, North-Caucasus Federal University, Senior Researcher, Laboratory of Physics and Technology of Semiconductor Nanoheterostructures for Microwave Electronics and Photonics Federal Research Center The Southern Scientific Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Anastasiya A. Blinova – Ph. D., Docent, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North-Caucasus Federal University

Reference:

Yasnaya, M.A. Influence of the polyethylene glycol molecular mass on thermal transitions of nanosized copper oxide / M.A. Yasnaya, A.V. Blinov, A.B. Golik, D.G. Maglakelidze, A.A. Gvozdenko, A.A. Kravtsov, A.A. Blinova // Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials. – Tver: TSU, 2021. — I. 13. — P. 937-946. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.937. (In Russian).

Full article (in Russian): download PDF file

References:

1. Radhakrishnan A.A., Beena B.B. Structural and optical absorption analysis of CuO nanoparticles, Indian Journal of Advances in Chemical Science, 2014, vol. 2, issue 2, pp. 158-161.
2. Devi H.S., Singh T.D. Synthesis of copper oxide nanoparticles by a novel method and its application in the degradation of methyl orange, Advance in Electronic and Electric engineering, 2014, vol. 4, no. 1, pp. 83-88.
3. Ahamed M., Alhadlaq H.A., Khan M.A.M. et al. Synthesis, characterization, and antimicrobial activity of copper oxide nanoparticles, Journal of Nanomaterials, 2014, vol. 2014, art. id 637858, 4 p. DOI: 10.1155/2014/637858.
4. Rani R., Kumar H., Salar R.K., Purewal S.S. Antibacterial activity of copper oxide nanoparticles against gram negative bacterial strain synthesized by reverse micelle technique, International Journal of Pharmaceutical Research and Development, 2014, vol. 6. issue march, pp. 72-78.
5. Tiwari J.N., Tiwari R.N., Kim K.S. Zero-dimensional, one-dimensional, two-dimensional and three-dimensional nanostructured materials for advanced electrochemical energy devices, Progress in Materials Science, 2012, vol. 57, issue 4, pp. 724-803. DOI: 10.1016/j.pmatsci.2011.08.003.
6. Xia Y., Yang P., Sun Y. One-dimensional nanostructures: synthesis, characterization, and applications, Advanced Materials, 2003, vol. 15, issue 5, pp. 353-389. DOI: 10.1002/adma.200390087.
7. Bourne L.C., Yu P.Y., Zettl A., Cohen M.L. High-pressure electrical conductivity measurements in the copper oxides, Physical Review B, 1989, vol. 40, issue 16, pp. 10973-10976. DOI: 10.1103/physrevb.40.10973.
8. Azam A., Ahmed A.S., Oves M. et al. Size-dependent antimicrobial properties of CuO nanoparticles against Gram-positive and -negative bacterial strains, International Journal Nanomedicine, 2012, vol. 7, pp. 3527-3535. DOI: 10.2147/ijn.s29020.
9. Siemons W., Koster G., Blank D.H.А. et al. Tetragonal CuO : end member of the 3d transition metal monoxides, Physical Review B, 2009, vol. 79, issue 19, pp. 195122-1-195122-7. DOI: 10.1103/physrevb.79.195122.
10. Wu D., Zhang Q., Tao M. LSDA+U study of cupric oxide: electronic structure and native point defects, Physical Review B, 2006, vol. 73, issue 23, pp. 235206-1-235206-6. DOI: 10.1103/physrevb.73.235206.
11. Anisimov V., Aryasetiawan F., Lichtenstein A. First-principles calculations of the electronic structure and spectra of strongly correlated systems: the LDA+ U method, Journal of Physics Condensed Matter, 1997, vol. 9, no. 4, pp. 767-808. DOI: 10.1088/0953-8984/9/4/002.
12. Hasan S.S., Singh S., Parikh R.Y. et al. Bacterial synthesis of copper/copper oxide nanoparticles, Journal of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, 2008, vol. 8, issue 6, pp. 3191-3196. DOI: 10.1166/jnn.2008.095.
13. Saito G., Hosokai S., Tsubota M., Akiyama T. Synthesis of copper/copper oxide nanoparticles by solution plasma, Journal of Applied Physics, 2011, vol. 110, issue 2, pp. 023302-1-023302-6. DOI: 10.1063/1.3610496.
14. Sampaio da Silva, F.A., Rojas E.E.G., de Campos M.F. Study of thermal degradation of PEG/PVP coating adsorbed in Fe3O4 nanoparticles, Materials Science Forum, 2016, vol. 881, pp. 481-484. DOI: 10.4028/www.scientific.net/msf.881.481.

⇐ Prevoius journal article | Content |

Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов
Основан в 2009 году


Исследование влияния молекулярной массы полиэтиленгликоля на термические превращения наноразмерного оксида меди

М.А. Ясная1, А.В. Блинов1, А.Б. Голик1, Д.Г. Маглакелидзе1, А.А. Гвозденко1, А.А. Кравцов1,2, А.А. Блинова1

1 ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
2 ФГБУН «Федеральный исследовательский центр Южный научный центр Российской академии наук»

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.937

Оригинальная статья

Аннотация: В данной работе получены образцы наноразмерного оксида меди, стабилизированного полиэтиленгликолем различных марок с молекулярными массами от 200 до 6000 Да. Методом рентгеновской дифрактометрии исследована кристаллическая структура полученных образцов наноразмерного оксида меди. В результате рентгенофазового анализа установлено, что структура образцов представляет собой моноклинную кристаллическую решетку, с пространственной группой C2/c. Методом фотонно-корреляционной спектроскопии изучено влияние молекулярной массы полимера на размер наночастиц. Анализ результатов исследования показал наличие во всех образцах наноразмерного оксида меди (II), стабилизированного полиэтиленгликолем с различной молекулярной массой, одной фракции частиц, распределение которых по размеру носит мономодальный характер. Установлено, что молекулярная масса полиэтиленгликоля оказывает, влияние на размер частиц CuO в коллоидных растворах, при этом фазовый состав и размеры кристаллитов остаются неизменными. Средний гидродинамический радиус частиц CuO в полученных образцах составляет порядка 140±40 нм. Наименьшие значения гидродинамического радиуса 70±15 нм наблюдаются в образце наноразмерного оксида меди, стабилизированного полиэтиленгликолем с молярной массой 6000 Дa. Методом синхронного термического анализа исследовано влияние стабилизатора с различными молекулярными массами на фазовые переходы образцов при термической обработке. В результате термического анализа установлено, что оптимальной температурой прокаливания порошков наноразмерного CuO является 500°C.

Ключевые слова: оксид меди (II), полиэтиленгликоль, синхронный термический анализ, рентгеновская дифрактометрия, фотонно-корреляционная спектроскопия

  • Ясная Мария Анатольевна – к.х.н., доцент кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Блинов Андрей Владимирович – к.т.н., доцент кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Голик Алексей Борисович – студент 4 курса кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Маглакелидзе Давид Гурамиевич – студент 2 курса кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Гвозденко Алексей Алексеевич – студент 4 курса кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Кравцов Александр Александрович – к.т.н., научный сотрудник научно-исследовательской лаборатории керамики и технохимии научно-лабораторного комплекса чистых зон физико-технический факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет», старший научный сотрудник лаборатории физики и технологии полупроводниковых наногетероструктур для СВЧ электроники и фотоники ФГБУН «Федеральный исследовательский центр Южный научный центр Российской академии наук»
  • Блинова Анастасия Александровна – к.т.н., доцент кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»

Ссылка на статью:

Ясная, М.А. Исследование влияния молекулярной массы полиэтиленгликоля на термические превращения наноразмерного оксида меди / М.А. Ясная, А.В. Блинов, А.Б. Голик, Д.Г. Маглакелидзе, А.А. Гвозденко, А.А. Кравцов, А.А. Блинова // Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов. — Тверь: Твер. гос. ун-т, 2021. — Вып. 13. — С. 937-946. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.937.

Полный текст: загрузить PDF файл

Библиографический список:

1. Radhakrishnan, A.A. Structural and optical absorption analysis of CuO nanoparticles / A.A. Radhakrishnan, B.B. Beena // Indian Journal of Advances in Chemical Science. – 2014. – V. 2. – I. 2. – P. 158-161.
2. Devi, H.S. Synthesis of copper oxide nanoparticles by a novel method and its application in the degradation of methyl orange / H.S. Devi, T.D. Singh //Advance in Electronic and Electric engineering. – 2014. – V. 4. – № 1. – P. 83-88.
3. Ahamed, M. Synthesis, characterization, and antimicrobial activity of copper oxide nanoparticles / M. Ahamed, H.A. Alhadlaq, M.A.M. Khan et al. //Journal of Nanomaterials. – 2014. – V. 2014. – Art. ID 637858. – 4 p. DOI: 10.1155/2014/637858.
4. Rani, R. Antibacterial activity of copper oxide nanoparticles against gram negative bacterial strain synthesized by reverse micelle technique / R. Rani, H. Kumar, R.K. Salar, S.S. Purewal // International Journal of Pharmaceutical Research and Development. – 2014. – V. 6. – I. March. – P. 72-78.
5. Tiwari, J.N. Zero-dimensional, one-dimensional, two-dimensional and three-dimensional nanostructured materials for advanced electrochemical energy devices / J.N. Tiwari, R.N. Tiwari, K.S Kim // Progress in Materials Science. – 2012. – V. 57. – I. 4. – P. 724-803. DOI: 10.1016/j.pmatsci.2011.08.003.
6. Xia, Y. One-dimensional nanostructures: synthesis, characterization, and applications / Y. Xia, P. Yang, Y. Sun et al. // Advanced Materials. – 2003. – V. 15. – I. 5. – P. 353-389. DOI: 10.1002/adma.200390087.
7. Bourne, L.C. High-pressure electrical conductivity measurements in the copper oxides / L.C. Bourne, P.Y. Yu, A. Zettl, M.L. Cohen // Physical Review B. – 1989. – V. 40. – I. 16. – P. 10973-10976. DOI: 10.1103/physrevb.40.10973.
8. Azam, A. Size-dependent antimicrobial properties of CuO nanoparticles against Gram-positive and -negative bacterial strains / A. Azam, A.S. Ahmed, M. Oves et al. // International Journal Nanomedicine. – 2012. – V. 7. – P. 3527-3535. DOI: 10.2147/ijn.s29020.
9. Siemons, W. Tetragonal CuO : end member of the 3d transition metal monoxides / W. Siemons, G. Koster, D.H.А. Blank et al. // Physical Review B. – 2009. – V. 79. – I. 19. – Р. 195122-1-195122-7. DOI: 10.1103/physrevb.79.195122.
10. Wu, D. LSDA+U study of cupric oxide: electronic structure and native point defects/ D. Wu, Q. Zhang, M. Tao // Physical Review B. – 2006. – V. 73. – I. 23. – Р. 235206-1-235206-6. DOI: 10.1103/physrevb.73.235206.
11. Anisimov, V. First-principles calculations of the electronic structure and spectra of strongly correlated systems: the LDA+U method / V. Anisimov, F. Aryasetiawan, A. Lichtenstein // Journal of Physics Condensed Matter. – 1997. – V. 9. – № 4. – P. 767-808. DOI: 10.1088/0953-8984/9/4/002.
12. Hasan, S.S. Bacterial synthesis of copper/copper oxide nanoparticles / S.S. Hasan, S. Singh, R.Y. Parikh et al. //Journal of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology. – 2008. – V. 8. – I. 6. – P. 3191-3196. DOI: 10.1166/jnn.2008.095.
13. Saito, G. Synthesis of copper/copper oxide nanoparticles by solution plasma / G. Saito, S. Hosokai, M. Tsubota, T. Akiyama //Journal of Applied Physics. – 2011. – V. 110. – I. 2. – P. 023302-1-023302-6. DOI: 10.1063/1.3610496.
14. Sampaio da Silva, F.A. Study of thermal degradation of PEG/PVP coating adsorbed in Fe3O4 nanoparticles / F.A. Sampaio da Silva, E.E.G. Rojas, M.F. de Campos // Materials Science Forum. – 2016. – V 881. – Р. 481- 484. DOI: 10.4028/www.scientific.net/msf.881.481.

⇐ Предыдущая статья | Содержание |