Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials
Founded at 2009


Hydrogen bonds in lithium niobate crystals of different composition

N.V. Sidorov, N.A. Teplyakova, M.N. Palatnikov

Tananaev Institute of Chemistry  Subdivision of the Federal Research Centre «Kola Science Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences»

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.376

Original article

Abstract: An analysis of complex defects was carried out by IR-spectroscopy method in the area of OH– groups stretching vibrations. The defects are caused by hydrogen bonds present in the structure of nominally pure congruent lithium niobate crystals, crystals of stoichiometric composition with a different Li /Nb ratio, as well as in LiNbO3:Zn(0,04–6,5 мол.% ZnO) crystals doped in a wide range of concentrations due to direct doping of the melt method. Dopants were determined to influence OH– groups concentration, type and localization of complex defects in the crystals structure. A change in the amount of hydrogen sites in the LiNbO3 crystals structure was shown to evaluate the composition either stoichiometric or congruent. The character of OH– groups complexing with cation sublattice point defects was shown to change when doped crystals LiNbO3:Zn(0,04–6,5 мол.% ZnO) trespass concentration thresholds. Dopant incorporation mechanism changes at this drastically, thus crystal properties also change quite sharply. Frequencies (as well as quasi-elastic constants of OH– bonds) change in congruent and doped crystals due to a difference in electronegativities and ionic radii of the main and dopant cations.

Keywords: single crystal, lithium niobate, defects, IR absorption spectra, doping, stretching vibrations of OH– group

  • Nikolay V. Sidorov – Dr. Sc., Professor, Chief Researcher and acting Head of Sector of Vibrational Spectroscopy of Materials of Electronic Engineering Laboratory, Tananaev Institute of Chemistry  Subdivision of the Federal Research Centre «Kola Science Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences»
  • Natalya A. Teplyakova – Ph. D., Senior Researcher, Sector of Vibrational Spectroscopy of Materials of Electronic Engineering Laboratory, Tananaev Institute of Chemistry  Subdivision of the Federal Research Centre «Kola Science Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences»
  • Mikhail N. Palatnikov – Dr. Sc., Chief Researcher and acting Head of Materials of Electronic Engineering Laboratory, Tananaev Institute of Chemistry  Subdivision of the Federal Research Centre «Kola Science Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences»

Reference:

Sidorov, N.V. Hydrogen bonds in lithium niobate crystals of different composition / N.V. Sidorov, N.A. Teplyakova, M.N. Palatnikov // Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials. – Tver: TSU, 2021. — I. 13. — P. 376-382. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.376. (In Russian).

Full article (in Russian): download PDF file

References:

1. Lеngyel K., Péter Á., Kovács L. et al. Growth, defect structure, and THz application of stoichiometric lithium niobate, Applied Physics Reviews, 2015, vol. 2, issue 4, pp. 040601-1-040601-28. DOI: 10.1063/1.4929917.
2. Arizmendi L., Ambite E.J., Plaza J.L. Analysis of the OH– binding energy in lithium niobate crystals, Optical Materials, 2013, vol. 35, issue 12, pp. 2411-2413. DOI: 10.1016/j.opt.mat.2013.06.043.
3. Gała̧ zka Z. Radial temperature distribution in LiNbO3 crystals pulled by the Czochralski technigue, Journal of Crystal Growth, 1997, vol. 178, issue 3, pp. 345-349. DOI: 10.1016/S0022-0248(96)01159-1.
4. Lengyel K., Kovács L., Péter A. et al. // Thermal kinetics of OH– ions in LiNbO3:Mg crystals above the photorefractive threshold, Applied Physics Letters, 2010, vol. 96, issue 19, pp. 191907-1-191907-3. DOI: 10.1063/1.3428772.
5. Polgár K., Péter A., Kovács L., Corradi G., Szaller Zs. Growth of stoichiometric LiNbO3 single crystals by top seeded solution growth method, Journal of Crystal Growth, 1997, vol. 177, issue I. 3-4, pp. 211-216. DOI: 10.1016/S0022-0248(96)01098-6.
6. Volk T., Wohlecke M. Lithium niobate. Defects, photorefraction and ferroelectric switching. Berlin, Springer, 2008, 250 p. DOI: 10.1007/978-3-540-70766-0.
7. Palatnikov M.N., Sidorov N.V., Makarova O.V., Biryukova I.V. Fundamental'nye aspekty tekhnologii sil'no legirovannykh kristallov niobata litiya [Fundamental aspects of the technology of heavily doped lithium niobate crystals]. Apatity, KSC RAS Publ., 2017, 241 p. (In Russian).
8. Sidorov N.V., Volk T.P., Mavrin B.N., Kalinnikov V.T. Niobat litiya: defekty, fotorefraktsiya, kolebatel'nyi spektr, polyaritony [Lithium niobate: defects, photorefraction, vibrational spectrum, polaritons]. Moscow, Nauka Publ., 2003, 255 p. (In Russian).
9. Cabrera J.M., Olivares J., Carrascosa M. et al. Hydrogen in lithium niobate, Advances in Physics, 1996, vol. 45, issue 5, pp. 349-392. DOI: 10.1080/00018739600101517.
10. Liu J., Zhang W., Zhang G. Defect chemistry analysis of the defect structure in Mg -doped LiNbO3 crystals, Physica Status Solidi a, 1996, vol. 156, issue 2, pp. 285-291. DOI: 10.1002/pssa.2211560207.

⇐ Prevoius journal article | Content | Next journal article ⇒

Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов
Основан в 2009 году


Водородные связи в кристаллах ниобата лития разного состава

Н.В. Сидоров, Н.А. Теплякова, М.Н. Палатников

Институт химии и технологии редких элементов и минерального сырья им. И.В. Тананаева – обособленное подразделение ФГБУН Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук»

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.376

Оригинальная статья

Аннотация: Методом ИК-спектроскопии в области валентных колебаний OH– групп выполнен анализ комплексных дефектов, обусловленных наличием в структуре кристалла водородных связей, в номинально чистых кристаллах ниобата лития конгруэнтного и стехиометрического состава с разным отношением Li /Nb, а также в кристаллах LiNbO3:Zn(0,04–6,5 мол.% ZnO), легированных цинком в широком диапазоне концентраций, полученным по технологии прямого легирования расплава. Выявлено влияние легирующих примесей на концентрацию OH– групп, вид и локализацию комплексных дефектов в структуре кристалла. Показано, что изменение количества позиций атомов водорода в структуре кристалла LiNbO3 позволяет с достаточной точностью судить о соответствии его состава стехио метрическому или конгруэнтному составу. Для легированных кристаллов LiNbO3:Zn(0,04–6,5 мол.% ZnO) получены данные, свидетельствующие об изменении при прохождении концентрационных порогов характера комплексообразования OH–групп с точечными дефектами катионной подрешетки. При этом, вследствие изменения механизма вхождения легирующего катиона в структуру кардинально изменяются свойства кристалла. Вклад в различие частот (и, соответственно, в значение квазиупругих постоянных связей OH–) в спектре конгруэнтного кристалла и легированных кристаллов может вносить также различие электроотрицательностей и ионных радиусов основных и легирующих катионов.

Ключевые слова: монокристалл, ниобат лития, дефекты, ИК-спектры поглощения, легирование, валентные колебания OH– групп

  • Сидоров Николай Васильевич – д.ф.-м.н., профессор, и.о. главного научного сотрудника с исполнением обязанностей заведующего сектором колебательной спектроскопии лаборатории материалов электронной техники, Институт химии и технологии редких элементов и минерального сырья им. И.В. Тананаева – обособленное подразделение ФГБУН Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук»
  • Теплякова Наталья Александровна – к.ф.-м.н., старший научный сотрудник сектора колебательной спектроскопии лаборатории материалов электронной техники, Институт химии и технологии редких элементов и минерального сырья им. И.В. Тананаева – обособленное подразделение ФГБУН Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук»
  • Палатников Михаил Николаевич – д.т.н., и.о. главного научного сотрудника с сохранением обязанностей заведующего лабораторией материалов электронной техники, Институт химии и технологии редких элементов и минерального сырья им. И.В. Тананаева – обособленное подразделение ФГБУН Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук»

Ссылка на статью:

Сидоров, Н.В. Водородные связи в кристаллах ниобата лития разного состава / Н.В. Сидоров, Н.А. Теплякова, М.Н. Палатников // Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов. — Тверь: Твер. гос. ун-т, 2021. — Вып. 13. — С. 376-382. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.376.

Полный текст: загрузить PDF файл

Библиографический список:

1. Lеngyel, K. Growth, defect structure, and THz application of stoichiometric lithium niobate / K. Lengyel, Á. Péter, L. Kovács et al. // Applied Physics Reviews. – 2015. –V. 2. – I. 4. –Р. 040601-1-040601-28. DOI: 10.1063/1.4929917.
2. Arizmendi, L. Analysis of the OH– binding energy in lithium niobate crystals / L. Arizmendi, E.J. Ambite, J.L. Plaza // Optical Materials. – 2013. –V. 35. – I. 12.– Р. 2411-2413. DOI: 10.1016/j.opt.mat.2013.06.043.
3. Gała̧ zka, Z. Radial temperature distribution in LiNbO3 crystals pulled by the Czochralski technigue / Z. Gała̧ zka // Journal of Crystal Growth. – 1997. – V. 178. – I. 3. – P. 345-349. DOI: 10.1016/S0022-0248(96)01159-1.
4. Lengyel, K. Thermal kinetics of OH– ions in LiNbO3:Mg crystals above the photorefractive threshold / K. Lengyel, L. Kovács, A. Péter et al. // Applied Physics Letters. – 2010. – V. 96. – I. 19. – P. 191907-1-191907-3. DOI: 10.1063/1.3428772.
5. Polgár, K. Growth of stoichiometric LiNbO3 single crystals by top seeded solution growth method / K. Polgár, A. Péter, L. Kovács, G. Corradi, Zs. Szaller // Journal of Crystal Growth. – 1997. – V. 177. – I. 3-4.– Р. 211-216. DOI: 10.1016/S0022-0248(96)01098-6.
6. Volk, T. Lithium niobate. Defects, photorefraction and ferroelectric switching / T. Volk, M. Wohlecke.– Berlin: Springer, 2008. – 250 p. DOI: 10.1007/978-3-540-70766-0.
7. Палатников, М.Н. Фундаментальные аспекты технологии сильно легированных кристаллов ниобата лития / М.Н. Палатников, Н.В.Сидоров, О.В.Макарова, И.В. Бирюкова. – Апатиты: КНЦ РАН, 2017. –241 с.
8. Сидоров, Н.В. Ниобат лития: дефекты, фоторефракция, колебательный спектр, поляритоны / Н.В. Сидоров, Т.Р. Волк, Б.Н. Маврин, В.Т. Калинников. – М.: Наука, 2003. – 255 с.
9. Cabrera, J.M. Hydrogen in lithium niobate / J.M. Cabrera, J. Olivares, M. Carrascosa et al. // Advances in Physics. – 1996. – V. 45. – I. 5. – P. 349-392. DOI: 10.1080/00018739600101517.
10. Liu, J. Defect chemistry analysis of the defect structure in Mg -doped LiNbO3 crystals / J. Liu, W. Zhang, G. Zhang // Physica Status Solidi a. – 1996. – V. 156. – I. 2. – P. 285-291. DOI: 10.1002/pssa.2211560207.

⇐ Предыдущая статья | Содержание | Следующая статья ⇒