Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials
Founded at 2009


Comparison of the efficiency of different detectors of the scanning electronic microscope « MIRA-LMH» for studying microstructure of nanomaterials

D.S. Kuleshov, A.V. Blinov, A.A. Blinova, M.A. Yasnaya, D.G. Maglakelidze, O.K. Vishnitskaya

North-Caucasus Federal University

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.250

Original article

Abstract: At the first stage, the objects of study were synthesized – silicon dioxide by the Stober method, where tetraethoxysilane was used as a precursor, and a nanocomposite ZnO–Au by the sol-gel method using the aqueous zinc acetate dihydrate as a precursor. At the second stage, the microstructure and morphology of the obtained samples were investigated by scanning electron microscopy on a «MIRA-LMH» scanning electron microscope (Tescan company) using both a classical secondary electron detector and additional detectors – intralens secondary electron detector and back-scattered electrons detector. As a result of the research, it was found that when using the secondary electron detector, practically no noise images with topographic contrast are obtained. When using the intralens secondary electron detector, images of only material contrast are created, without the influence of the surface relief. Also, the use of this detector made it possible to obtain high-quality images with a high resolution at a distance of 5 mm from the sample. When using a back-scattered electrons detector with a working distance to the sample of 8 mm and increasing the resolution of the microscope, the resulting images have low border contrast, but represent compositional information with high sensitivity. Thus, it was found that the intralens secondary electron detector with a working distance of 5 mm to the sample is optimal for obtaining clear images of the microstructure of the surface of nanomaterials at multiple magnifications.

Keywords: silicon dioxide, nanocomposite ZnO—Au , scanning electron microscopy, detectors, microstructure

  • Dmitry S. Kuleshov – Docent, Research Laboratory of Physical and Chemical Methods of Analysis of the Scientific and Laboratory Complex of Clean Zones, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North-Caucasus Federal University
  • Andrey V. Blinov – Ph. D., Docent, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North-Caucasus Federal University
  • Anastasiya A. Blinova – Ph. D., Docent, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North-Caucasus Federal University
  • Maria A. Yasnaya – Ph. D., Docent, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North-Caucasus Federal University
  • David G. Maglakelidze – 2nd year student, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North-Caucasus Federal University
  • Olga K. Vishnitskaya – 1st year student, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North-Caucasus Federal University

Reference:

Kuleshov, D.S. Comparison of the efficiency of different detectors of the scanning electronic microscope « MIRA-LMH» for studying microstructure of nanomaterials / D.S. Kuleshov, A.V. Blinov, A.A. Blinova, M.A. Yasnaya, D.G. Maglakelidze, O.K. Vishnitskaya // Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials. – Tver: TSU, 2021. — I. 13. — P. 250-262. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.250. (In Russian).

Full article (in Russian): download PDF file

References:

1. Stokes D.J. Recent advances in electron imaging, image interpretation and applications: environmental scanning electron microscopy, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London. Series A: Mathematical, Physical and Engineering Sciences, 2003, Vоl. 361, issue 1813, pp. 2771-2787. DOI: 10.1098/rsta.2003.1279.
2. Baer D.R., Engelhard M.H., Johnson G.E. Surface characterization of nanomaterials and nanoparticles: Important needs and challenging opportunities, Journal of Vacuum Science & Technology A: Vacuum, Surfaces, and Films, 2013, vol. 31, issue 5, pp. 050820-1-050820-34. DOI: 10.1116/1.4818423.
3. Donald A.M. The use of environmental scanning electron microscopy for imaging wet and insulating materials, Nature materials, 2003, vol. 2, no. 8, pp. 511-516. DOI: 10.1038/nmat898.
4. Newbury D.E., Ritchie N.W.M. Elemental mapping of microstructures by scanning electron microscopy-energy dispersive X-ray spectrometry (SEM-EDS): extraordinary advances with the silicon drift detector (SDD), Journal of Analytical Atomic Spectrometry, 2013, vol. 28, issue 7, pp. 973-988. DOI: 10.1039/C3JA50026H.
5. Zhao T.T., Gu H., Wang X.-H. et al. Revealing correlation of core‒rim structures, defects and stacking-faults in SiC ceramics by integrated scanning electron microscopy, Journal of the European Ceramic Society, 2021, vol. 41, issue 1, pp. 204-212. DOI: 10.1016/j.jeurceramsoc.2020.09.019.
6. Gvozdenko A.A., Blinov A.V., Yasnaya M.A. i dr. Komp'yuternoe kvantovo-khimicheskoe modelirovanie polikomponentnoi sistemy SiO2-MexOy [Computer quantum-chemical simulation of multicomponent SiO2–MexOy systems], Fiziko-khimicheskie aspekty izucheniya klasterov, nanostruktur i nanomaterialov [Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials], 2020, issue 12, pp. 394-404. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.394. (In Russian).
7. Kołodziejczak-Radzimska A., Jesionowski T. Zinc oxide – from synthesis to application: a review, Materials, 2014, vol. 7, issue 4, pp. 2833-2881. DOI: 10.3390/ma7042833.
8. Stutzman P. Scanning electron microscopy imaging of hydraulic cement microstructure, Cement and Concrete Composites, 2004, vol. 26, issue 8, pp. 957-966. DOI: 10.1016/j.cemconcomp.2004.02.043.
9. Eres M.A.F., Valle-Algarra F.M., Adelantado J.V.G. et al. Archaeometric study on polymetallic remains from the archaeological dig in Lixus (Larache, Morocco) by scanning electron microscopy and metallographic techniques, Microchimica Acta, 2008, vol. 162, issue 3-4, pp. 341-349. DOI: 10.1007/s00604-007-0926-5.
10. Timchenko T.V., Blinov A.V., Serov A.V. i dr. Vliyanie skorosti, vremeni gomogenizatsii, vida poverkhnostno-aktivnogo veshchestva na razmer i formu nanochastits pentoksifillina na osnove poli-dl-laktid-ko-glikolida [Influence of speed, time of homogenization, type of surface active substance on the size of pentoxyphilline nanoparticles based on poly-dl-laktide-co-glicolide], Farmatsiya i farmokologiya [Pharmacy & Pharmacology], 2017, vol. 5, no. 2, pp. 177-194. DOI: 10.19163/2307-9266-2017-5-2-177-194. (In Russian).
11. Zhou W., Apkarian R., Wang Z. L., Joy D. Fundamentals of scanning electron microscopy (SEM), in book: Scanning Microscopy for Nanotechnology, ed. by W. Zhou, Z.L. Wang. New York, Springer, 2006, рр. 1-40. DOI: 10.1007/978-0-387-39620-0_1.
12. Xing Q. Information or resolution: Which is required from an SEM to study bulk inorganic materials?, Scanning, 2016, vol. 38, issue 6, pp. 864-879. DOI: 10.1002/sca.21336.
13. Dahmen T., Engstler M., Pauly C. et al. Feature adaptive sampling for scanning electron microscopy, Scientific Reports, 2016, vol 6, no. 1, art. no. 25350, 11 p. DOI: 10.1038/srep25350.
14. De Haan, K., Ballard Z.S., Rivenson Y., Wu Y., Ozcan A. Resolution enhancement in scanning electron microscopy using deep learning, Scientific Reports, 2019, vol. 9, no., art. no. 12050, 7 p. DOI: 10.1038/s41598-019-48444-2.

⇐ Prevoius journal article | Content | Next journal article ⇒

Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов
Основан в 2009 году


Сравнение эффективности различных детекторов сканирующего электронного микроскопа «MIRA-LMH» для исследования микроструктуры наноматериалов

Д.С. Кулешов, А.В. Блинов, А.А. Блинова, М.А. Ясная, Д.Г. Маглакелидзе, О.К. Вишницкая

ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.250

Оригинальная статья

Аннотация: На первом этапе были синтезированы объекты исследования – диоксид кремния методом Штобера, где в качестве прекурсора использовали тетраэтоксисилан, и нанокомпозит ZnO–Au золь-гель методом с использованием в качестве прекурсора 2–водного ацетата цинка. На втором этапе, микроструктуру и морфологию полученных образцов исследовали методом растровой электронной микроскопии на сканирующем электронном микроскопе «MIRA-LMH» фирмы «Tescan» с применением как классического детектора вторичных электронов, так и дополнительных детекторов – внутрилинзового детектора вторичных электронов и детектора отраженных электронов. В результате исследований установлено, что при использовании детектора вторичных электронов получаются изображения с топографическим контрастом и практически без шумов. При использовании внутрилинзового детектора вторичных электронов создаются изображения только материального контраста, без влияния рельефа поверхности. Также использование данного детектора позволило получить высококачественные изображения с большим разрешением на расстоянии от образца 5 мм. При использовании детектора отраженных электронов с рабочим расстоянием до образца 8 мм и увеличении разрешающей способности микроскопа, полученные изображения имеют низкий контраст границ, но представляют композиционную информацию с высокой чувствительностью. Таким образом, установлено, что внутрилинзовый детектор вторичных электронов, с рабочим расстоянием до образца 5 мм, является оптимальным для получения четких изображений микроструктры поверхности наноматериалов при многократном увеличении.

Ключевые слова: диоксид кремния, нанокомпозит ZnO–Au, сканирующая электронная микроскопия, детекторы, микроструктура

  • Кулешов Дмитрий Сергеевич – инженер научно-исследовательской лаборатории физико-химических методов анализа научно-лабораторного комплекса чистых зон физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Блинов Андрей Владимирович – к.т.н., доцент кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Блинова Анастасия Александровна – к.т.н., доцент кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Ясная Мария Анатольевна – к.т.н., доцент кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Маглакелидзе Давид Гурамиевич – студент 2 курса кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Вишницкая Ольга Константиновна – студент 1 курса кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»

Ссылка на статью:

Кулешов, Д.С. Сравнение эффективности различных детекторов сканирующего электронного микроскопа «MIRA-LMH» для исследования микроструктуры наноматериалов / Д.С. Кулешов, А.В. Блинов, А.А. Блинова, М.А. Ясная, Д.Г. Маглакелидзе, О.К. Вишницкая // Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов. — Тверь: Твер. гос. ун-т, 2021. — Вып. 13. — С. 250-262. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.250.

Полный текст: загрузить PDF файл

Библиографический список:

1. Stokes, D.J. Recent advances in electron imaging, image interpretation and applications: environmental scanning electron microscopy / D.J. Stokes // Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London. Series A: Mathematical, Physical and Engineering Sciences. – 2003. – V. 361. – I. 1813. – P. 2771-2787. DOI: 10.1098/rsta.2003.1279.
2. Baer, D.R. Surface characterization of nanomaterials and nanoparticles: Important needs and challenging opportunities / D.R. Baer, M.H. Engelhard, G.E. Johnson et. al. // Journal of Vacuum Science & Technology A: Vacuum, Surfaces, and Films. – 2013. – V. 31. – I. 5. – P. 050820-1-050820-34. DOI: 10.1116/1.4818423.
3. Donald, A.M. The use of environmental scanning electron microscopy for imaging wet and insulating materials / A.M. Donald // Nature materials. – 2003. – V. 2. – №. 8. – P. 511-516. DOI: 10.1038/nmat898.
4. Newbury, D.E. Elemental mapping of microstructures by scanning electron microscopy-energy dispersive X-ray spectrometry (SEM-EDS): extraordinary advances with the silicon drift detector (SDD) / D.E. Newbury, N.W.M. Ritchie // Journal of Analytical Atomic Spectrometry. – 2013. – V. 28. – I. 7. – P. 973-988. DOI: 10.1039/C3JA50026H.
5. Zhao, T.T. Revealing correlation of core‒rim structures, defects and stacking-faults in SiC ceramics by integrated scanning electron microscopy / T.T. Zhao, H. Gu, X.-H. Wang et.al // Journal of the European Ceramic Society. – 2021. – V. 41. – I. 1. – P. 204-212. DOI: 10.1016/j.jeurceramsoc.2020.09.019.
6. Гвозденко, A.A. Компьютерное квантово-химическое моделирование поликомпонентной системы SiO2–MexOy / А.А. Гвозденко, А.В. Блинов, М.А. Ясная и др. // Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов.– 2020. – Вып. 12. – C. 394-404. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.394.
7. Kołodziejczak-Radzimska, A. Zinc oxide – from synthesis to application: a review / A. Kołodziejczak-Radzimska, T. Jesionowski // Materials. – 2014. – V. 7. – I. 4. – Р. 2833-2881. DOI: 10.3390/ma7042833.
8. Stutzman, P. Scanning electron microscopy imaging of hydraulic cement microstructure / P. Stutzman // Cement and Concrete Composites. – 2004. – V. 26. – I. 8. – P. 957-966. DOI: 10.1016/j.cemconcomp.2004.02.043.
9. Eres, M.A.F. Archaeometric study on polymetallic remains from the archaeological dig in Lixus (Larache, Morocco) by scanning electron microscopy and metallographic techniques / M.A.F. Eres, F.M. Valle-Algarra, J.V.G. Adelantado et.al // Microchimica Acta. – 2008. – V. 162. – I. 3-4. – P. 341-349. DOI: 10.1007/s00604-007-0926-5.
10. Тимченко, Т.В. Влияние скорости, времени гомогенизации, вида поверхностно-активного вещества на размер и форму наночастиц пентоксифиллина на основе поли-dl-лактид-ко-гликолида / Т.В. Тимченко, А.В. Блинов, А.В. Серов и др. // Фармация и фармакология. – 2017. – T. 5. – №. 2. – C. 177-194. DOI: 10.19163/2307-9266-2017-5-2-177-194.
11. Zhou, W. Fundamentals of scanning electron microscopy (SEM) / W. Zhou, R. Apkarian, Z. L. Wang, D. Joy // In book: Scanning Microscopy for Nanotechnology; ed. by W. Zhou, Z.L. Wang. – New York, Springer, 2006. – P. 1-40. DOI: 10.1007/978-0-387-39620-0_1.
12. Xing, Q. Information or resolution: Which is required from an SEM to study bulk inorganic materials? / Q. Xing // Scanning. – 2016. – V. 38. – I. 6. – Р. 864-879. DOI: 10.1002/sca.21336.
13. Dahmen, T. Feature adaptive sampling for scanning electron microscopy / T. Dahmen, M. Engstler, C. Pauly et al. // Scientific Reports. – 2016. – Vol. 6. – № 1. – Art. № 23350. – 11 p. DOI: 10.1038/srep25350.
14. De Haan, K. Resolution enhancement in scanning electron microscopy using deep learning / K. De Haan, Z.S. Ballard, Y. Rivenson, Y. Wu, A. Ozcan // Scientific Reports. – 2019. – V. 9. – № 1. Art. № 12050. – 7 p. DOI: 10.1038/s41598-019-48444-2.

⇐ Предыдущая статья | Содержание | Следующая статья ⇒