Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials
Founded at 2009


Luminescence of YAG: Ce doped with silver nanoparticles

A.A. Kravtsov1,2, I.S. Chikulina2, D.S. Vakalov2, O.M. Chapura2, S.O. Krandievsky2, O.V. Devitskiy1,2, V.A. Lapin1,2

1 Federal Research Center The Southern Scientific Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences
2 North-Caucasus Federal University

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.220

Original article

Abstract: This work was the first to study the effect of silver nanoparticles on the luminescence of cerium doped yttrium-aluminum garnet. A sol with the size of silver nanoparticles of ≈100 nm was synthesized using the method of chemical reduction. Phosphor ceramic powder of the yttrium- aluminum garnet doped with cerium was obtained by the two-stage precipitation method. The silver nanoparticles sol was introduced into the precursor powder before calcination in concentrations from 0,125 to 0,1 ml. It was shown that the photoluminescence intensity increased in comparison with the reference when we used this method of introducing silver nanoparticles. The optimal concentration within the study was 0,25 ml. At this concentration, the increase in the photoluminescence intensity at a wavelength of 540 nm was about 10 %. Studies have shown that silver nanoparticles can be successfully used to increase the brightness of the phosphor of the yttrium-aluminum garnet doped with cerium without distortion and deterioration of spectral characteristics.

Keywords: silver nanoparticles, ceramic powder, luminescence, yttrium-aluminum garnet doped with cerium, optical properties

  • Aleksandr A. Kravtsov – Ph. D., Senior Researcher, Laboratory of Physics and Technology of Semiconductor Nanoheterostructures for Microwave Electronics and Photonics, Federal Research Center The Southern Scientific Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Researcher, Scientific-research Laboratory of Ceramics and Technochemistry, Scientific-laboratory Complex of Clean Rooms, Physics and Technology Faculty North-Caucasus Federal University
  • Irina S. Chikulina – Head of the Research Laboratory of Ceramics and Technochemistry, Scientific-laboratory Complex of Clean Rooms, Physics and Technology Faculty, North-Caucasus Federal University
  • Dmitry S. Vakalov – Ph. D., Head of the Research Laboratory of Physicochemical Methods of Analysis, Scientific-laboratory Complex of Clean Rooms, Physics and Technology Facult, North-Caucasus Federal University
  • Oleg M. Chapura – Engineer of the Department of Physical Electronics, Physics and Technology Faculty, North-Caucasus Federal University
  • Svyatoslav O. Krandievsky – Engineer of the Research Laboratory of Physicochemical Methods of Analysis, Scientific-laboratory Complex of Clean Rooms, Physics and Technology Faculty, North-Caucasus Federal University
  • Oleg V. Devitskiy – Ph. D., Senior Researcher, Laboratory of Physics and Technology of Semiconductor Nanoheterostructures for Microwave Electronics and Photonics, Federal Research Center The Southern Scientific Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Senior Researcher of the Scientific and Educational Center for Photovoltaics and Nanotechnology North-Caucasus Federal University
  • Viacheslav A. Lapin – Ph. D., Senior Researcher, Laboratory of Physics and Technology of Semiconductor Nanoheterostructures for Microwave Electronics and Photonics, Federal Research Center The Southern Scientific Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Researcher of the Research Laboratory of Physicochemical Methods of Analysis, Scientific and Laboratory Complex of Clean Rooms, Physics and Technology Faculty North-Caucasus Federal University

Reference:

Kravtsov, A.A. Luminescence of YAG: Ce doped with silver nanoparticles / A.A. Kravtsov, I.S. Chikulina, D.S. Vakalov, O.M. Chapura, S.O. Krandievsky, O.V. Devitskiy, V.A. Lapin // Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials. – Tver: TSU, 2021. — I. 13. — P. 220-227. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.220. (In Russian).

Full article (in Russian): download PDF file

References:

1. Nishiura S, Tanabe S., Fujioka K., Fujimoto Y. Properties of transparent Ce : YAG ceramic phosphors for white LED, Optical Materials, 2010, vol. 33, issue 5, pp. 688-691. DOI: 10.1016/j.optmat.2010.06.005.
2. Pan Y., Wu M., Su Q. Tailored photoluminescence of YAG : Ce phosphor through various methods, Journal of Physics and Chemistry of Solids, 2003, vol. 65, issue 5, pp. 845-850. DOI: 10.1016/j.jpcs.2003.08.018.
3. Yao Q., Zhang L., Zhang J. et al. Simple mass-preparation and enhanced thermal performance of Ce : YAG transparent ceramics for high power white LEDs, Ceramics International, 2019, vol. 45, issue 5, pp. 6356-6362. DOI: 10.1016/j.ceramint.2018.12.121.
4. Haouari M., Slimen F.B., Maaoui A., Gaumer N. Structural and spectroscopic properties of Eu3+ doped tellurite glass containing silver nanoparticles, Journal of Alloys and Compounds, 2018, vol. 743, pp. 586-596. DOI: 10.1016/j.jallcom.2018.01.192.
5. Zhu Y., Wang Y., Zhu J. et al. Plasmon multiwavelength-sensitized luminescence enhancement of highly transparent Ag /YVO4 : Eu3+ /PMMA film, Journal of Luminescence, 2018, vol. 200, pp. 158-163. DOI: 10.1016/j.jlumin.2018.03.081.
6. Rajesh D., Amjad R.J., Dousti M.R., de Camargo A.S.S. Enhanced VIS and NIR emissions of Pr3+ ions in TZYN glasses containing silver ions and nanoparticles, Journal of Alloys and Compounds, 2017, vol. 695, pp. 607-612. DOI: 10.1016/j.jallcom.2016.11.058.
7. Malta O.L., Santa-Cruz P.A., De Sá G.F., Auzel F. Fluorescence enhancement induced by the presence of small silver particles in Eu3+ doped materials, Journal of Luminescence, 1985, vol. 33, issue 3, pp. 261-272. DOI: 10.1016/0022-2313(85)90003-1.
8. Lunin L.S., Lunina M.L., Kravtsov A.A., et al. Effect of the Ag nanoparticle concentration in TiO2—Ag functional coatings on the characteristics of // GaInP GaAs Ge photoconverters, Semiconductors, 2018, vol. 52, issue 8, pp. 993-996. DOI: 10.1134/S1063782618080122.
9. Lunin L.S., Devitskii O.V., Kravtsov A.A., Pashchenko A.S. Polymer films with silver nanoparticles improve the spectral characteristics of photovoltaic converters, Technical Physics Letters, 2020, vol. 46, issue 1, pp. 98-101. DOI: 10.1134/S1063785020010265.
10. Kravtsov A.A., Nikova M.S., Vakalov D.S. et al. Combined effect of MgO sintering additive and stoichiometry deviation on YAG crystal lattice defects, Ceramics International, 2019, vol. 45, issue 16, pp. 20178-20188. DOI: 10.1016/j.ceramint.2019.06.287.
11. Kravtsov A.A., Chikulina I.S., Tarala V.A. et al. Novel synthesis of low-agglomerated YAG :Yb ceramic nanopowders by two-stage precipitation with the use of hexamine, Ceramics International, 2019, vol. 45, issue 1, pp . 1273-1282. DOI: 10.1016/j.ceramint.2018.10.010.
12. Kravtsov A.A., Devitsky O.V., Kuleshov D.S., Pashchenko A.S. Issledovanie mikrostruktury polimernykh funktsional'nykh pokrytij s nanochastitsami serebra dlya solnechnykh elementov [The microstructure of polymer functional coatings with silver nanoparticles for solar cells], Fiziko-khimicheskie aspekty izucheniya klasterov, nanostruktur i nanomaterialov [Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials], 2020, issue 12, pp. 617-627. (In Russian) DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.617. (In Russian).

⇐ Prevoius journal article | Content | Next journal article ⇒

Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов
Основан в 2009 году


Исследование люминесценции YAG: Ce, допированного наночастицами серебра

А.А. Кравцов1,2, И.С. Чикулина2, Д.С. Вакалов2, О.М. Чапура2, С.О. Крандиевский2, О.В. Девицкий1,2, В.А. Лапин1,2

1 ФГБУН «Федеральный исследовательский центр Южный научный центр Российской академии наук»
2 ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.220

Оригинальная статья

Аннотация: В работе впервые было исследовано влияние наночастиц серебра на люминесценцию иттрий-алюминиевого граната, легированного церием. С помощью метода химического восстановления был синтезирован золь с размером наночастиц серебра ≈100 нм. Керамический порошок люминофора иттрий-алюминиевого граната, легированного церием, был получен методом двухстадийного осаждения в уротропин. Золь наночастиц серебра в концентрациях от 0,125 до 0,1 мл вводили в порошок- прекурсор перед прокаливанием. Было показано, что при данном способе введения наночастиц серебра интенсивность фотолюминесценции возрастала по сравнению с эталоном. Оптимальной концентрацией в рамках исследования являлась концентрация 0,25 мл. При данной концентрации увеличение интенсивности фотолюминесценции на длине волны 540 нм составило порядка 10%. Проведенные исследования показали, что наночастицы серебра могут с успехом применяться для увеличения яркости люминофора иттрий-алюминиевого граната, легированного церием, без искажения и ухудшения спектральных характеристик.

Ключевые слова: наночастицы серебра, керамический порошок, люминесценция, иттрий-алюминиевый гранат, легированный церием, оптические свойства

  • Кравцов Александр Александрович – к.т.н., старший научный сотрудник лаборатории физики и технологии полупроводниковых наногетероструктур для СВЧ электроники и фотоники, ФГБУН «Федеральный исследовательский центр Южный научный центр Российской академии наук», научный сотрудник научно-исследовательской лаборатории керамики и технохимии научно-лабораторного комплекса чистых зон физико-технического факультета ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет», научный сотрудник научно-исследовательской лаборатории керамики и технохимии научно-лабораторного комплекса чистых зон физико-технического факультета ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Чикулина Ирина Сергеевна – заведующий научно-исследовательской лабораторией керамики и технохимии научно-лабораторного комплекса чистых зон физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Вакалов Дмитрий Сергеевич – к.ф.-м.н., заведующий научно-исследовательской лабораторией физико- химических методов анализа научно-лабораторного комплекса чистых зон физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Чапура Олег Михайлович – инженер кафедры физической электроники физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Крандиевский Cвятослав Олегович – инженер научно-исследовательской лаборатории физико- химических методов анализа научно-лабораторного комплекса чистых зон физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Девицкий Олег Васильевич – к.т.н., старший научный сотрудник лаборатории физики и технологии полупроводниковых наногетероструктур для СВЧ-электроники и фотоники, ФГБУН «Федеральный исследовательский центр Южный научный центр Российской академии наук», старший научный сотрудник научно-образовательного центра фотовольтаики и нанотехнологии ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Лапин Вячеслав Анатольевич – к.т.н., старший научный сотрудник лаборатории физики и технологии полупроводниковых наногетероструктур для СВЧ-электроники и фотоники, ФГБУН «Федеральный исследовательский центр Южный научный центр Российской академии наук», научный сотрудник научно-исследовательской лаборатории физико-химических методов анализа научно-лабораторного комплекса чистых зон физико-технического факультета ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»

Ссылка на статью:

Кравцов, А.А. Исследование люминесценции YAG: Ce, допированного наночастицами серебра / А.А. Кравцов, И.С. Чикулина, Д.С. Вакалов, О.М. Чапура, С.О. Крандиевский, О.В. Девицкий, В.А. Лапин // Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов. — Тверь: Твер. гос. ун-т, 2021. — Вып. 13. — С. 220-227. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.220.

Полный текст: загрузить PDF файл

Библиографический список:

1. Nishiura, S Properties of transparent Ce : YAG ceramic phosphors for white LED / S. Nishiura, S. Tanabe, K. Fujioka, Y. Fujimoto // Optical Materials. – 2010. – V. 33. – I. 5. – P. 688-691. DOI: 10.1016/j.optmat.2010.06.005.
2. Pan, Y. Tailored photoluminescence of YAG : Ce phosphor through various methods / Y. Pan, M. Wu, Q. Su // Journal of Physics and Chemistry of Solids. – 2003. – V. 65. – I. 5. – P. 845-850. DOI: 10.1016/j.jpcs.2003.08.018.
3. Yao, Q. Simple mass-preparation and enhanced thermal performance of Ce : YAG transparent ceramics for high power white LEDs / Q. Yao, L. Zhang, J. Zhang et al. // Ceramics International. – 2019. – V. 45. – I. 5. – P. 6356-6362. DOI: 10.1016/j.ceramint.2018.12.121.
4. Haouari, M. Structural and spectroscopic properties of Eu3+ doped tellurite glass containing silver nanoparticles / M. Haouari, F.B. Slimen, A. Maaoui, N. Gaumer // Journal of Alloys and Compounds. – 2018. – V. 743. – P. 586-596. DOI: 10.1016/j.jallcom.2018.01.192.
5. Zhu, Y. Plasmon multiwavelength-sensitized luminescence enhancement of highly transparent Ag / YVO4 : Eu3+/PMMA film / Y. Zhu, Y. Wang, J. Zhu et al. // Journal of Luminescence. – 2018. – V. 200. – P. 158-163. DOI: 10.1016/j.jlumin.2018.03.081.
6. Rajesh, D. Enhanced VIS and NIR emissions of Pr3+ ions in TZYN glasses containing silver ions and nanoparticles / D. Rajesh, R.J. Amjad, M.R. Dousti, A.S.S. de Camargo // Journal of Alloys and Compounds. – 2017. – V. 695. – P. 607-612. DOI: 10.1016/j.jallcom.2016.11.058.
7. Malta, O.L. Fluorescence enhancement induced by the presence of small silver particles in Eu3+ doped materials / O.L. Malta, P.A. Santa-Cruz, G.F. De Sá, F. Auzel // Journal of Luminescence. – 1985. – V. 33. – I. 3. – P. 261-272. DOI: 10.1016/0022-2313(85)90003-1.
8. Lunin, L.S. Effect of the Ag nanoparticle concentration in TiO2—Ag functional coatings on the characteristics of GaInP / GaAs/ Ge photoconverters / L.S. Lunin, M.L. Lunina, A.A. Kravtsov et al. // Semiconductors. – 2018. – V. 52. – I. 8. – P. 993-996. DOI: 10.1134/S1063782618080122.
9. Lunin, L.S. Polymer films with silver nanoparticles improve the spectral characteristics of photovoltaic converters / L.S. Lunin, O.V. Devitskii, A.A. Kravtsov, A.S. Pashchenko // Technical Physics Letters. – 2020. – V. 46. – I. 1. – P. 98-101. DOI: 10.1134/S1063785020010265.
10. Kravtsov, A.A. Combined effect of MgO sintering additive and stoichiometry deviation on YAG crystal lattice defects / A.A. Kravtsov, M.S. Nikova, D.S. Vakalov et al. // Ceramics International. – 2019. – V. 45. – I. 16. – P. 20178-20188. DOI: 10.1016/j.ceramint.2019.06.287.
11. Kravtsov, A.A. Novel synthesis of low-agglomerated YAG : Yb ceramic nanopowders by two-stage precipitation with the use of hexamine / A.A. Kravtsov, I.S. Chikulina, V.A. Tarala et al. // Ceramics International. – 2019. – V. 45. – I. 1. – P. 1273-1282. DOI: 10.1016/j.ceramint.2018.10.010.
12. Кравцов, А.А. Исследование микроструктуры полимерных функциональных покрытий с наночастицами серебра для солнечных элементов / А.А. Кравцов, О.В. Девицкий, Д.С. Кулешов, А.С. Пащенко // Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов. – 2020. – Вып. 12. – С. 617-627. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.617.

⇐ Предыдущая статья | Содержание | Следующая статья ⇒