Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials
Founded at 2009


Determination of optimal parameters for synthesis of silver nanoparticles stabilized with polyethylene glycol

A.V. Blinov, A.A. Gvozdenko, A.A. Blinova, A.V. Kobina, A.B. Golik, D.G. Maglakelidze, O.K. Vishnitskaya

North Caucasus Federal University

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.032

Original article

Abstract: Within the framework of this work, the results are presented of a study of the effect of the concentrations of the stabilizer and precursor on the synthesis of silver nanoparticles. Silver nitrate was used as a precursor, and polyethylene glycol with a molecular weight from 200 to 600 Da was used as a stabilizer. The synthesis was carried out by the method of chemical reduction in an aqueous medium. The obtained samples were investigated by photon correlation spectroscopy and spectrophotometry. The presence of a characteristic absorption band at 400 nm in the absorption spectra of all samples of nanosized silver stabilized with polyethylene glycol was established, which is due to the appearance of surface plasmon resonance in metallic silver nanoparticles. It was also found that at the highest and lowest concentration of the stabilizer, equal, respectively, 0,005 and 0,1 mass. %, the formation of large silver particles with an average hydrodynamic radius from 132 to 1900 nm is observed in the reaction system. As a result, the optimal parameters for the synthesis of aggregatively stable silver nanoparticles were determined: the concentration of silver nitrate См(AgNO3)=0,05  M and the concentration of polyethylene glycol equal to 0,01— 0,05 %. Computerquantum-chemical modeling is carried out. It is found that the interaction of the silver atom with the terminal hydroxogroup in the polyethylene glycol molecule in the elementary act of interaction during the stabilization of silver nanoparticles by this polymer is energetically advantageous. This type of interaction is characterized by an absolute chemical hardness equal to η=0,146, and an internal energy of Е=—2048,34  kcal / mol.

Keywords: silver nanoparticles, polyethylene glycol, stabilizer, precursor, spectrophotometry, plasmon resonance, photon correlation spectroscopy, computer quantum chemical modeling

  • Andrey V. Blinov – Assistant professor, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North Caucasus Federal University
  • Аlexey A. Gvozdenko – 4th year student, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North Caucasus Federal University
  • Anastasiya A. Blinova – Ph. D., Assistant professor, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North Caucasus Federal University
  • Anna V. Kobina – 1st year student, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North Caucasus Federal University
  • Alexey B. Golik – 4th year student, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North Caucasus Federal University
  • David G. Maglakelidze – 2nd year student, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North Caucasus Federal University
  • Olga K. Vishnitskaya – 1st year student, Department of Physics and Technology of Nanostructures and Materials, Faculty of Physics and Technology, North Caucasus Federal University

Reference:

Blinov, A.V. Determination of optimal parameters for synthesis of silver nanoparticles stabilized with polyethylene glycol / A.V. Blinov, A.A. Gvozdenko, A.A. Blinova, A.V. Kobina, A.B. Golik, D.G. Maglakelidze, O.K. Vishnitskaya // Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials. – Tver: TSU, 2021. — I. 13. — P. 32-43. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.032. (In Russian).

Full article (in Russian): download PDF file

References:

1. Krutyakov Y.A., Kudrinskiy A.A., Olenin A.Y., Lisichkin G.V. Sintez i svoistva nanochastits serebra: dostizheniya i perspektivy [Synthesis and properties of silver nanoparticles: advances and prospects], Russian Chemical Reviews, 2008, vol. 77, no. 3, pp. 242-269. DOI: 10.1070/RC2008v077n03ABEH003751. (In Russian).
2. Wei L., Lu J., Xu H. et al. Silver nanoparticles: synthesis, properties, and therapeutic applications, Journal of Drug Discovery Today, 2015, vol. 20, issue 5, рр. 595-601. DOI: 10.1016/j.drudis.2014.11.014.
3. Anisimov S.V., Khramtsov A.G., Blinov A.V. et al. Bactericidal and fungicidal activity of silver nanoparticles stabilized by didecyldimethylammonium bromide, Journal of Hygienic Engineering and Design, 2019, vol. 29, pp. 140-144.
4. Blinova A.A. A.V. Blinov, O.A. Baklanova et al. Study of wound-healing ointment composition based on highly dispersed zinc oxide modified with nanoscale silver, International Journal of Pharmaceutical and Phytopharmacological Research, 2020, vol. 10, issue 6, pp. 237-245. DOI: 10.51847/Cu6KX0JDE3.
5. Li M., Cushing S.K., Wu N. Plasmon-enhanced optical sensors: a review, The Analyst, 2015, vol. 140, issue 2, pp. 386-406. DOI: 10.1039/c4an01079e.
6. Tran Q.H., Nguyen V.Q., Le A.-T. Silver nanoparticles: synthesis, properties, toxicology, applications and perspectives, Advances in Natural Sciences: Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, 2013, vol. 4, no. 3, art. no. 033001, 20 p. DOI: 10.1088/2043-6262/4/3/033001. Corrigendum: Advances in Natural Sciences: Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, 2013, vol. 9, no. 4, art. no. 049501, 2 p. DOI: 10.1088/2043-6254/aad12b.
7. Shenashen M.A., El-Safty S.A., Elshehy E.A. Synthesis, morphological control, and properties of silver nanoparticles in potential applications, Particle & Particle Systems Characterization, 2014, vol. 31, issue 3, pp. 293-316. DOI: 10.1002/ppsc.201300181.
8. Haider A., Haider A., Kang I.-K. Preparation of silver nanoparticles and their industrial and biomedical applications: a comprehensive review, Advances in Materials Science and Engineering, 2015, vol. 2015, art. id 165257, 16 p. DOI: 10.1155/2015/165257.
9. Tan K.S., Cheong, K.Y. Advances of Ag, Cu and Ag —Cu alloy nanoparticles synthesized via chemical reduction route, Journal of Nanoparticle Research, 2013, vol. 15, issue 4, art. no. 1537, 29 p. DOI: 10.1007/s11051-013-1537-1.
10. He Y., Zhang X. Ultrasensitive colorimetric detection of manganese(II) ions based on anti-aggregation of unmodified silver nanoparticles, Sensors and Actuators B: Chemical, vol. 222, pp. 320-324. DOI: 10.1016/j.snb.2015.08.089.
11. Agnihotri S., Mukherji S., Mukherji S. Size-controlled silver nanoparticles synthesized over the range 5 - 100 nm using the same protocol and their antibacterial efficacy, RSC Advances, 2014, vol. 4, issue 8, pp. 3974-3983. DOI: 10.1039/C3RA44507K.
12. Q-Chem is a comprehensive ab initio quantum chemistry software for accurate predictions of molecular structures, reactivities, and vibrational, electronic and NMR spectra. Available at: https://www.q-chem.com (accessed 20.04.2021).
13. Gilbert A. Introduction to IQmol. Available at: http://iqmol.org/downloads/IQmolUserGuide.pdf (accessed 22.04.2021).
14. Blinov A.V., Yasnaya M.A., Blinova А.А. i dr. Komp'yuternoe kvantovo-khimicheskoe modelirovanie nanochastits serebra, stabilizirovannykh polimerami [Computer quantum-chemical simulation of polymeric stabilization of silver nanoparticles], Fiziko-khimicheskie aspekty izucheniya klasterov, nanostruktur i nanomaterialov [Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials], 2019, issue 11, pp. 414-421. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2019.11.414. (In Russian).
15. Blinov A.V., Gvozdenko A.A., Kravtsov A.A. et al. Synthesis of nanosized manganese methahydroxide stabilized by cystine, Materials Chemistry and Physics, 2021, vol. 265, art. no. 124510, 10 p. DOI: 10.1016/j.matchemphys.2021.124510.
16. Gvozdenko A.A., Blinov A.V., Yasnaya M.A. i dr. Komp'yuternoe kvantovo-khimicheskoe modelirovanie polikomponentnoi sistemy SiO2-MexOy [Computer quantum-chemical simulation of multicomponent SiO2— MexOy systems], Fiziko-khimicheskie aspekty izucheniya klasterov, nanostruktur i nanomaterialov [Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials], 2020, issue 12, pp. 394-404. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.394. (In Russian).
17. Xie Y., Ye R., Liu H. Synthesis of silver nanoparticles in reverse micelles stabilized by natural biosurfactant, Colloids and Surfaces A: Physicochemical and Engineering Aspects, 2006, vol. 279, issue 1-3, pp. 175-178. DOI: 10.1016/j.colsurfa.2005.12.056.
18. Mulfinger L., Solomon S.D., Bahadory M. et al. Synthesis and Study of Silver Nanoparticles, Journal of Chemical Education, 2007, vol. 84, issue 2, pp. 322-325. DOI: 10.1021/ed084p322.

⇐ Prevoius journal article | Content | Next journal article ⇒

Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов
Основан в 2009 году


Определение оптимальных параметров синтеза наночастиц серебра, стабилизированных полиэтиленгликолем

А.В. Блинов, А.А. Гвозденко, А.В. Блинова, А.В. Кобина, А.Б. Голик, Д.Г. Маглакелидзе, О.К. Вишницкая

ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.032

Оригинальная статья

Аннотация: В рамках данной работы представлены результаты исследования влияния концентраций стабилизатора и прекурсора на процесс синтеза наночастиц серебра. В качестве прекурсора использован нитрат серебра, а в качестве стабилизатора – полиэтиленгликоль с молекулярной массой от 200 до 600 Да. Синтез осуществляли методом химического восстановления в водной среде. Полученные образцы исследовали фотонно-корреляционной спектроскопией и спектрофотометрией. Установлено наличие характеристической полосы поглощения на 400 нм в спектрах поглощения всех образцов наноразмерного серебра, стабилизированного полиэтиленгликолем, что обусловлено возникновением поверхностного плазмонного резонанса у металлических наночастиц серебра. Также установлено, что при наибольшей и наименьшей концентрации стабилизатора, равных, соответственно, 0,005 и 0,1 мас.%, в реакционной системе наблюдается формирование крупных частиц серебра со средним гидродинамическим радиусом от 132 до 1900 нм. В результате определены оптимальные параметры синтеза агрегативно устойчивых наночастиц серебра: концентрация нитрата серебра См(AgNO3) =0,05 M и концентрация полиэтиленгликоля, равная 0,01 — 0,05 %. Проведено компьютерное квантово- химическое моделирование. Установлено, что энергетически выгодным является взаимодействие атома серебра с концевой гидроксогруппой в молекуле полиэтиленгликоля в элементарном акте взаимодействия при стабилизации наночастиц серебра данным полимером. Данный тип взаимодействия характеризуется абсолютной химической жесткостью, равной η=0,146 эВ, и внутренней энергией Е=—2048,34 ккал / моль.

Ключевые слова: наночастицы серебра, полиэтиленгликоль, стабилизатор, прекурсор, спектрофотометрия, плазмонный резонанс, фотонно-корреляционная спектроскопия, компьютерное квантово-химическое моделирование

  • Блинов Андрей Владимирович – к.т.н., доцент кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Гвозденко Алексей Алексеевич – студент 4 курса кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Блинова Анастасия Александровна – к.т.н., доцент кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Кобина Анна Витальевна – студент 1 курса магистратуры кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Голик Алексей Борисович – студент 4 курса кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Маглакелидзе Давид Гурамиевич – студент 2 курса кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»
  • Вишницкая Ольга Константиновна – студент 1 курса кафедры физики и технологии наноструктур и материалов физико-технического факультета, ФГАОУ ВО «Северо-Кавказский федеральный университет»

Ссылка на статью:

Блинов, А.В. Определение оптимальных параметров синтеза наночастиц серебра, стабилизированных полиэтиленгликолем / А.В. Блинов, А.А. Гвозденко, А.В. Блинова, А.В. Кобина, А.Б. Голик, Д.Г. Маглакелидзе, О.К. Вишницкая // Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов. — Тверь: Твер. гос. ун-т, 2021. — Вып. 13. — С. 32-43. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2021.13.032.

Полный текст: загрузить PDF файл

Библиографический список:

1. Крутяков, Ю.А. Синтез и свойства наночастиц серебра: достижения и перспективы / Ю.A. Крутяков, A.A. Кудринский, A.Ю. Оленин, Г.В. Лисичкин // Успехи химии. – 2008. – V. 77. – №. 3. – P. 242-269. DOI: 10.1070/RC2008v077n03ABEH003751.
2. Wei, L. Silver nanoparticles: synthesis, properties, and therapeutic applications / L. Wei, J. Lu, H. Xu et al. // Drug Discovery Today. – 2015. – V. 20. – I. 5. – Р. 595-601. DOI: 10.1016/j.drudis.2014.11.014.
3. Anisimov, S.V. Bactericidal and fungicidal activity of silver nanoparticles stabilized by didecyldimethylammonium bromide / S.V. Anisimov, A.G. Khramtsov, A.V. Blinov et al. // Journal of Hygienic Engineering and Design. – 2019. – V. 29. – P. 140-144.
4. Blinova, A.A. Study of wound-healing ointment composition based on highly dispersed zinc oxide modified with nanoscale silver / A. A. Blinova, A.V. Blinov, O.A. Baklanova et al. // International Journal of Pharmaceutical and Phytopharmacological Research. – 2020. – V. 10. – I. 6. – P. 237-245. DOI: 10.51847/Cu6KX0JDE3.
5. Li, M. Plasmon-enhanced optical sensors: a review / M. Li, S.K. Cushing, N. Wu // Analyst. – 2015. – V. 140. – I. 2. – P. 386-406. DOI: 10.1039/c4an01079e.
6. Tran, Q.H. Silver nanoparticles: synthesis, properties, toxicology, applications and perspectives / Q.H. Tran, V.Q. Nguyen, A.-T. Le // Advances in Natural Sciences: Nanoscience and Nanotechnology. – 2013. – V. 4. – № 3. – Art. № 033001. – 20 p. DOI: 10.1088/2043-6262/4/3/033001. Corrigendum: Advances in Natural Sciences: Nanoscience and Nanotechnology. – 2013. – V. 9. – № 4. – Art. № 049501. – 2 p. DOI: 10.1088/2043-6254/aad12b.
7. Shenashen, M.A. Synthesis, morphological control, and properties of silver nanoparticles in potential applications / M.A. Shenashen, S.A. El-Safty, E.A. Elshehy // Particle & Particle Systems Characterization. – 2014. – V. 31. – I. 3. – P. 293-316. DOI: 10.1002/ppsc.201300181.
8. Haider, A. Preparation of silver nanoparticles and their industrial and biomedical applications: a comprehensive review / A. Haider, I.-K. Kang // Advances in Materials Science and Engineering. – 2015. – V. 2015. – Art. ID 165257. – 16 p. DOI: 10.1155/2015/165257.
9. Tan, K.S. Advances of Ag, Cu and Ag —Cu alloy nanoparticles synthesized via chemical reduction route / K.S. Tan, K.Y. Cheong // Journal of Nanoparticle Research. – 2013. – V. 15. – I. 4. – Art. № 1537. – 29 p. DOI: 10.1007/s11051-013-1537-1.
10. He, Y. Ultrasensitive colorimetric detection of manganese (II) ions based on anti-aggregation of unmodified silver nanoparticles / Y. He, X. Zhang // Sensors and Actuators B: Chemical. – 2016. – V. 222. – P. 320-324. DOI: 10.1016/j.snb.2015.08.089.
11. Agnihotri, S. Size-controlled silver nanoparticles synthesized over the range 5 —100 nm using the same protocol and their antibacterial efficacy / S. Agnihotri, S. Mukherji, S. Mukherji // RSC Advances. – 2014. – V. 4. – I. 8. – P. 3974-3983. DOI: 10.1039/C3RA44507K.
12. Q-Chem is a comprehensive ab initio quantum chemistry software for accurate predictions of molecular structures, reactivities, and vibrational, electronic and NMR spectra. – Режим доступа: url: https://www.q-chem.com. – 20.04.2021.
13. Gilbert, A. Introduction to IQmol / A. Gilbert. –Режим доступа: url: http://iqmol.org/downloads/IQmolUserGuide.pdf. – 22.04.2021.
14. Блинов, A.В. Компьютерное квантово-химическое моделирование наночастиц серебра, стабилизированных полимерами / A.В. Блинов, М.А. Ясная, А.А. Блинова // Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов. – 2019. – №. 11. – С. 414-421. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2019.11.414.
15. Blinov, A.V. Synthesis of nanosized manganese methahydroxide stabilized by cysteine / A.V. Blinov, A.A. Gvozdenko, A.A. Kravtsov et al. // Materials Chemistry and Physics. – 2021. – V. 265. – Art. № 124510. – 10 p. DOI: 10.1016/j.matchemphys.2021.124510.
16. Гвозденко, A.A. Компьютерное квантово-химическое моделирование поликомпонентной системы SiO2— MexOy / А.А. Гвозденко, А.В. Блинов, М.А. Ясная и др. // Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов. – 2020. – Вып. 12. – C. 394-404. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.394.
17. Xie, Y. Synthesis of silver nanoparticles in reverse micelles stabilized by natural biosurfactant / Y. Xie, R. Ye, H. Liu // Colloids and Surfaces A: Physicochemical and Engineering Aspects. – 2006. – V. 279. – I. 1-3. – P. 175-178. DOI: 10.1016/j.colsurfa.2005.12.056.
18. Mulfinger, L. Synthesis and study of silver nanoparticles / L. Mulfinger, S.D. Solomon, M. Bahadory et al. // Journal of Chemical Education. – 2007. – V. 84. – I. 2. – P. 322-325. DOI: 10.1021/ed084p322.

⇐ Предыдущая статья | Содержание | Следующая статья ⇒