Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials
Founded at 2009


Modification of silicon surface under influence of radiation of a nanosecond ultraviolet laser

T.V. Malinskiy1, S.I. Mikolutskiy1, V.E. Rogalin1, Yu.V. Khomich1, V.A. Yamshchikov1, I.A. Kaplunov2, A.I. Ivanova2

1 Institute for Electrophysics and Electric Power, Russian Academy of Sciences (Director of Moscow Branch)
2 Tver State University

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.628

Original article

Abstract: The effect of radiation of a nanosecond ultraviolet laser (λ = 355 nm, pulse duration 10 ns, pulse energy up to 8 mJ, pulse repetition rate – up to 100 Hz) on a silicon single crystal has been investigated by methods of the optical profilometry and scanning electron microscopy. At an energy density of ≥ 1,2 J/сm2, formation of the plasma torch and crater was observed. At an energy density of ≥ 0,2 J/сm2, pockets of microbreakdown appeared on processing defects, and traces of uncontrolled surface uplift were recorded. Irradiation with a scanning laser beam at an energy density of 0,2 J/сm2 forms microcraters on a surface with a size of several microns. With an increase in the energy density, the size of the microbreakdowns increased, and at an energy density ≥ 0,7 J/сm2, the impact of the scanning beam forms a continuous damage zone.

Keywords: laser impact, silicon single crystal, UV laser, nanosecond pulse, micro- and nanomodification of the surface, plastic deformation

  • Taras V. Malinskiy – Ph. D., Docent, Head of the Laboratory of Electric Discharge and Laser Technology, Institute for Electrophysics and Electric Power of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Moscow Branch)
  • Sergey I. Mikolutskiy – Ph. D., Senior Researcher of Laboratory of Electrohydrodynamic systems, Institute for Electrophysics and Electric Power of the Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Vladimir E. Rogalin – Dr. Sc., Head of Laboratory of Powerful Pulse Systems, Institute for Electrophysics and Electric Power of the Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Yuriy V. Khomich – Researcher of Laboratory of Electric Discharge and Laser Technology, Institute for Electrophysics and Electric Power of the Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Vladimir A. Yamshchikov – Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Dr. Sc., Institute for Electrophysics and Electric Power, Russian Academy of Sciences (Director of Moscow Branch)
  • Ivan A. Kaplunov – Dr. Sc., Chief of the Department of Applied Physics, Tver State University
  • Alexandra I. Ivanova – Ph. D., Docent of the Applied Physic Department, Tver State University

Reference:

Malinskiy, T.V. Modification of silicon surface under influence of radiation of a nanosecond ultraviolet laser / T.V. Malinskiy, S.I. Mikolutskiy, V.E. Rogalin, Yu.V. Khomich, V.A. Yamshchikov, I.A. Kaplunov, A.I. Ivanova // Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials. – Tver: TSU, 2020. — I. 12. — P. 628-636. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.628. (In Russian).

Full article (in Russian): download PDF file

⇐ Prevoius journal article | Content | Next journal article ⇒

Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов
Основан в 2009 году


Модификация поверхности кремния при воздействии излучения наносекундного ультрафиолетового лазера

Т.В. Малинский1, С.И. Миколуцкий1, В.Е. Рогалин1, Ю.В. Хомич1, В.А. Ямщиков1, И.А. Каплунов2, А.И. Иванова2

1 ФГБУН «Институт электрофизики и электроэнергетики Российской академии наук» (директор Московского филиала)
2 ФГБОУ ВО «Тверской государственный университет»

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.628

Оригинальная статья

Аннотация: Методами оптической профилометрии и сканирующей электронной микроскопии исследовано воздействие излучения наносекундного ультрафиолетового лазера (λ = 355 нм, длительность импульса 10 нс, энергия в импульсе – до 8 мДж, частота следования импульсов до 100 Гц) на монокристалл кремния. При плотности энергии ≥ 1,2 Дж/см2 наблюдалось образование плазменного факела и кратера. При плотности энергии ≥ 0,2 Дж/см2, возникают очаги микропробоя на дефектах обработки и зафиксированы следы неконтролируемого поднятия поверхности. Облучение сканирующим пучком лазера при плотности энергии 0,2 Дж/см2 образует микрократеры на поверхности размером несколько мкм. С увеличением плотности энергии размер микропробоев увеличивался, и при плотности энергии ≥ 0,7 Дж/см2 воздействие сканирующим лучом образует сплошную зону повреждений.

Ключевые слова: лазерное воздействие, монокристалл кремния, УФ лазер, наносекундный импульс, микро- и наномодификация поверхности, пластическая деформация

  • Малинский Тарас Владимирович – к.т.н., доцент, заведующий лабораторией электроразрядной и лазерной техники ФГБУН «Институт электрофизики и электроэнергетики Российской академии наук» (московский филиал)
  • Миколуцкий Сергей Иванович – к.ф.-м.н., старший научный сотрудник лаборатории электрогидродинамических систем ФГБУН «Институт электрофизики и электроэнергетики Российской академии наук»
  • Рогалин Владимир Ефимович – д.ф.-м.н., заведующий лабораторией мощной импульсной техники ФГБУН «Институт электрофизики и электроэнергетики Российской академии наук»
  • Хомич Юрий Владиславович – научный сотрудник лаборатории электроразрядной и лазерной техники ФГБУН «Институт электрофизики и электроэнергетики Российской академии наук»
  • Ямщиков Владимир Александрович – член-корреспондент РАН, д.т.н. ФГБУН «Институт электрофизики и электроэнергетики Российской академии наук» (директор Московского филиала)
  • Каплунов Иван Александрович – д.т.н., профессор, заведующий кафедрой прикладной физики ФГБОУ ВО «Тверской государственный университет»
  • Иванова Александра Ивановна – к.ф.-м.н., доцент кафедры прикладной физики ФГБОУ ВО «Тверской государственный университет»

Ссылка на статью:

Малинский, Т.В. Модификация поверхности кремния при воздействии излучения наносекундного ультрафиолетового лазера / Т.В. Малинский, С.И. Миколуцкий, В.Е. Рогалин, Ю.В. Хомич, В.А. Ямщиков, И.А. Каплунов, А.И. Иванова // Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов. — Тверь: Твер. гос. ун-т, 2020. — Вып. 12. — С. 628-636. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.628.

Полный текст: download PDF file

Библиографический список:

1. Zimmermann, H. Silicon optoelectronic integrated circuits / H. Zimmermann // In: Springer Series in Advanced Microelectronics. – 2nd ed. – Cham, Switzerland: Springer International Publishing, 2018. − V. 13. − XXI, 441 p. DOI: 10.1007/978-3-030-05822-7.
2. Герасименко, Н.Н. Кремний – материал наноэлектроники / Н.Н. Герасименко, Ю.Н. Пархоменко. − М.: Техносфера, 2007. − 352 с.
3. Crouch, C.H. Comparison of structure and properties of femtosecond and nanosecond laser-structured silicon / C.H. Crouch, J.E. Carey, J.M. Warrender, et al. // Applied Physics Letters. – 2004. – V. 84. – I. 11. – P. 1850-1852. DOI: 10.1063/1.1667004.
4. Costache, F. Self-assembled surface patterning and structural modification upon femtosecond laser processing of crystalline silicon / F. Costache, S. Kouteva-Arguirova, J. Reif // Solid State Phenomena. – 2004. – V. 95-96. – P. 635-640. DOI: 10.4028/www.scientific.net/SSP.95-96.635.
5. Harzic, R.Le. Formation of periodic nanoripples on silicon and germanium induced by femtosecond laser pulses physics / R.Le Harzic, D. Dörr, D. Sauer, et al. // Physics Procedia. – 2011. – V. 12. – P. 29-36. DOI: 10.1016/j.phpro.2011.03.102.
6. Nayak B.N. Self-organized 2D periodic arrays of nanostructures in silicon by nanosecond laser irradiation / B.K. Nayak, K. Sun, C. Rothenbach, M.C. Gupta // Applied Optics. – 2011. – V. 50. – I. 16. – P. 2349-2355. DOI: 10.1364/AO.50.002349.
7. Pedraza, A.J. Silicon microcolumn arrays grown by nanosecond pulsed-excimer laser irradiation / A.J. Pedraza, J.D. Fowlkes, D.H. Lowndes // Applied Physics Letters. – 1999. – V. 74. – P. 2322-2324. DOI: 10.1063/1.123838.
8. Pedraza,A.J. Surface nanostructuring of silicon / A.J. Pedraza, J.D. Fowlkes, Y.F. Guan // Applied Physics A. – 2003. – V. 77. – I. 2. – P. 277-284. DOI: 10.1007/s00339-003-2113-9.
9. Reif, J. Self-organized regular surface patterning by pulsed laser ablation / J. Reif, F. Costache, O. Varlamova, G. Jia, M. Ratzke // Physica Status Solidi C. – 2009. – V. 6. – I. 3. – P. 681-686. DOI: 10.1002/pssc.200880719.
10. Makin, V.S. Thermal waveguide and fine scale periodic relief on the semiconductor’s surface induced by tea CO2 laser radiation / V.S. Makin, Yu.I. Pestov, V.E. Privalov // Optical Memory and Neural Networks (Information Optics). – 2012. – V. 21. – I. 1. – P. 52-61. DOI: 10.3103/S1060992X12010079.
11. Makin, V.S. Interaction of laser radiation with an axially symmetric polarization with condensed media / V.S. Makin, R.S. Makin // Optics and Spectroscopy. – 2013. – V. 115. – I. 4. – P. 591-595. DOI: 10.1134/S0030400X13070102.
12. Makin, V.S. Localized surface plasmon polaritons and nonlinear overcoming of the diffraction optical limit / V.S. Makin, E.I. Logacheva, R.S. Makin // Optics and Spectroscopy. – 2016. – V. 120. – I. 4. – P. 610-614. DOI: 10.1134/S0030400X16040172.
13. Malinskiy, T.V. Plastic deformation of copper under the action of high-power nanosecond UV laser pulse / T.V. Malinskiy, S.I. Mikolutskiy, V.E. Rogalin, et al. // Technical Physics Letters. – 2020. – V. 46. – I. 8. – P. 831-834. DOI: 10.1134/S1063785020080234.
14. Анисимов, С.И. Действие излучения большой мощности на металлы / С.И. Анисимов, Я.А. Имас, Г.С. Романов, Ю.В. Ходыко. – М.: Наука, 1970. – 272 с.
15. Панченко, В.Я. Лазерные технологии обработки материалов: современные проблемы фундаментальных исследований и прикладных разработок / В.Я. Панченко. − М.: Физматлит, 2009. − 664 с.
16. Окатов, М.А. Справочник технолога-оптика / М. А. Окатов. − СПб.: Политехника, 2004. − 679 с.
17. Железнов, Ю.А. Экспериментальная установка по микро- и наноструктурированию поверхности твердых тел лазерным излучением / Ю.А. Железнов, Т.В. Малинский, С.И. Миколуцкийи др. // Прикладная физики. – 2014. – № 3. – C. 83-87.
18. Ganin, D.V. Formation of micron and submicron structures on a zirconium oxide surface exposed to nanosecond laser radiation / D.V. Ganin, S.I. Mikolutskiy, V.N. Tokarev, et al. // Quantum Electronics. − 2014. − V. 44. − № 4. − P. 317-321. DOI: 10.1070/QE2014v044n04ABEH015219.
19. Mikolutskiy, S.I. Formation of various types of nanostructures on germanium surface by nanosecond laser pulses / S.I. Mikolutskiy, R.R. Khasaya, Yu.V. Khomich, V.A. Yamshchikov // Journal of Physics: Conference Series. − 2018. − V. 987. Applied Nanotechnology and Nanoscience International Conference 2017 (ANNIC 2017) 18-20 October 2017, Rome, Italy. − Art. № 012007. − 5 p. DOI: 10.1088/1742- 6596/987/1/012007.