Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials
Founded at 2009


Influence of thermal annealing on the structure and optical properties of thin aluminum nitride films on sapphire

O.V. Devitskiy1,2, A.A. Kravtsov1,2, A.S. Pashchenko1, I.A. Sysoev2

1 Federal Research Center Southern Scientific Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences
2 North Caucasus Federal University

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.591

Original article

Abstract: The results of an experimental study of the effect of thermal annealing on the structure, surface morphology and optical properties of thin films of aluminum nitride on sapphire are presented. Thin films of aluminum nitride on sapphire with a thickness of 200 nm were annealed in air and in a nitrogen atmosphere at a residual gas pressure in the vacuum chamber of the ion-beam deposition unit of no less than 100 Pa at a temperature of 850 °C. It was found that thermal annealing of aluminum nitride films on sapphire in a nitrogen atmosphere leads to a decrease in the root mean square roughness of the films to 0,8 nm, an increase in the transmittance in the wavelength range of 300 ‑ 1100 nm up to 96 %, and an increase in the stoichiometry of the films. It is shown that for aluminum nitride films annealed in air on sapphire, aluminum nitride is oxidized to form amorphous aluminum oxide at a temperature of 850 °C. The results of energy dispersive analysis showed the complete absence of nitrogen on the surface of these films. A decrease in the transmittance over the entire wavelength range for films AlN annealed in air makes them unsuitable for use in optoelectronics. The surface morphology of these films is an array of pointed formations with a maximum height 190,7 nm and an arithmetic mean surface roughness 3,7 nm.

Keywords: aluminum nitride, ion-beam deposition, thermal annealing, nanoheterostructures, sapphire, optical properties, energy dispersive analysis

  • Oleg V. Devitskiy – Ph. D., Senior Researcher, Laboratory of Physics and Technology of Semiconductor Nanoheterostructures for Microwave Electronics and Photonics Federal Research Center Southern Scientific Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Senior Researcher, Scientific and Educational Center for Photovoltaics and Nanotechnology North Caucasus Federal University
  • Aleksandr A. Kravtsov – Ph. D., Senior Researcher, Laboratory of Physics and Technology of Semiconductor Nanoheterostructures for Microwave Electronics and Photonics Federal Research Center Southern Scientific Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Researcher, Scientific and Educational Center for Photovoltaics and Nanotechnology North Caucasus Federal University
  • Alexander S. Pashchenko – Ph. D. in Physics and Mathematics, Leading Researcher of the Laboratory of Physics and Technology of Semiconductor Nanoheterostructures for Microwave Electronics and Photonics Federal Research Center Southern Scientific Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Igor A. Sysoev – Dr. Sc., Docent, Director of the Scientific and Educational Center for Photovoltaics and Nanotechnology North Caucasus Federal University

Reference:

Devitskiy, O.V. Influence of thermal annealing on the structure and optical properties of thin aluminum nitride films on sapphire / O.V. Devitskiy, A.A. Kravtsov, A.S. Pashchenko, I.A. Sysoev // Physical and chemical aspects of the study of clusters, nanostructures and nanomaterials. – Tver: TSU, 2020. — I. 12. — P. 591-600. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.591. (In Russian).

Full article (in Russian): download PDF file

Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов
Основан в 2009 году


Влияние термического отжига на структуру и оптические свойства тонких пленок нитрида алюминия на сапфире

О.В. Девицкий1,2, А.А. Кравцов1,2, А.С. Пащенко1, И.А. Сысоев2

1 ФГБУН «Федеральный исследовательский центр Южный научный центр Российской академии наук»
2 ФГАОУ ВО «СевероКавказский федеральный университет»

DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.591

Оригинальная статья

Аннотация: Представлены результаты экспериментального исследования влияния термического отжига на структуру, морфологию поверхности и оптические свойства тонких пленок нитрида алюминия на сапфире. Тонкие пленки нитрида алюминия на сапфире толщиной 200 нм отжигались на воздухе и в атмосфере азота при остаточном давлении газов в вакуумной камере установки ионно-лучевого осаждения не менее 100 Па при температуре 850 °C. Установлено, что при термическом отжиге пленок нитрида алюминия на сапфире в атмосфере азота происходит уменьшение среднеквадратичной шероховатости пленок до 0,8 нм, увеличение коэффициента пропускания в диапазоне длин волн 300 - 1000 нм вплоть до 96 %, а также повышение стехиометрии пленок. Показано, что для пленок нитрида алюминия на сапфире, отожжённых на воздухе, происходит окисление нитрида алюминия с образованием аморфного оксида алюминия при температуре 850 °C. Результаты энергодисперсионного анализа показали полное отсутствие азота на поверхности этих пленок. Снижение коэффициента пропускания во всем диапазоне длин волн для пленок AlN, отожжённых на воздухе, делает их не пригодными для применения в оптоэлектронике. Морфология поверхности этих пленок представляет собой массив остроконечных образований с максимальной высотой 190,7 нм и среднеарифметической шероховатостью поверхности 3,7 нм.

Ключевые слова: нитрид алюминия, ионно-лучевое осаждение, термический отжиг, наногетероструктуры, сапфир, оптические свойства, энергодисперсионный анализ

  • Девицкий Олег Васильевич – к.т.н., старший научный сотрудник лаборатории физики и технологии полупроводниковых наногетероструктур для СВЧ-электроники и фотоники ФГБУН «Федеральный исследовательский центр Южный научный центр Российской академии наук», старший научный сотрудник научно-образовательного центра фотовольтаики и нанотехнологии ФГАОУ ВО «СевероКавказский федеральный университет»
  • Кравцов Александр Александрович – к.т.н., старший научный сотрудник лаборатории физики и технологии полупроводниковых наногетероструктур для СВЧ-электроники и фотоники ФГБУН «Федеральный исследовательский центр Южный научный центр Российской академии наук», научный сотрудник научно-образовательного центра фотовольтаики и нанотехнологии ФГАОУ ВО «СевероКавказский федеральный университет»
  • Пащенко Александр Сергеевич – к.ф.-м.н., ведущий научный сотрудник лаборатории физики и технологии полупроводниковых наногетероструктур для СВЧ-электроники и фотоники ФГБУН «Федеральный исследовательский центр Южный научный центр Российской академии наук»
  • Сысоев Игорь Александрович – д.т.н., доцент, директор научно-образовательного центра фотовольтаики и нанотехнологи ФГАОУ ВО «СевероКавказский федеральный университет»

Ссылка на статью:

Девицкий, О.В. Влияние термического отжига на структуру и оптические свойства тонких пленок нитрида алюминия на сапфире / О.В. Девицкий, А.А. Кравцов, А.С. Пащенко, И.А. Сысоев // Физико-химические аспекты изучения кластеров, наноструктур и наноматериалов. — Тверь: Твер. гос. ун-т, 2020. — Вып. 12. — С. 591-600. DOI: 10.26456/pcascnn/2020.12.591.

Полный текст: download PDF file

Библиографический список:

1. Miyake, H. Preparation of high-quality AlN on sapphire by high-temperature face-to-face annealing / H. Miyake, C.H. Lin, K. Tokoro, K. Hiramatsu // Journal of Crystal Growth. – 2016. – V. 456. – P. 155-159. DOI: 10.1016/j.jcrysgro.2016.08.028.
2. Ghosh, P.K. High temperature capacitors using AlN grown by MBE as the dielectric/ P.K. Ghosh, M. Sarollahi, C. Li, et al. // Journal of Vacuum Science & Technology B. – 2018. – V. 36. – I. 4. – P. 041202-1041202-6. DOI: 10.1116/1.5033931.
3. Polyakov, A.Y. Structural and electric properties of AlN substrates used for LED Heterostructures’ growth / A.Y. Polyakov, N.B. Smirnov, A.V. Govorkov, et al. // Russian Microelectronics. – 2010. – V. 40. – I. 8. – P. 629-633. DOI: 10.1134/S1063739711080178.
4. Kim, J.W. Critical thickness of AlN thin film grown on 2 3 Al O (0001) / J. W. Kim, Y.H. Hwang, J.H. Cho, H.K. Kim // Japanese Journal of Applied Physics. – 2001. – V. 40. – Part 1. – № 7. – P. 4677-4679. DOI:10.1143/jjap.40.4677.
5. Hagedorn, S. AlN and 2 3 AlN Al O / seed layers from atomic layer deposition for epitaxial growth of AlN on sapphire / S. Hagedorn, A. Knauer, M. Weyers, F. Naumann, H. Gargouri // Journal of Vacuum Science & Technology. – 2019. – V. 37. – I. 2. – P. 020914-1-020914-8. DOI: 10.1116/1.5079473.
6. Liu, B. Preparation and rapid thermal annealing of AlN thin films grown by molecular beam epitaxy / B. Liu, J. Gao, K.M. Wu, C. Liu // Solid State Communications. – 2009. – V. 149. – I. 17-18. – P. 715-717. DOI: 10.1016/j.ssc.2009.02.008.
7. Hajakbari, F. Optical properties of amorphous AlN thin films on glass and silicon substrates grown by single ion beam sputtering / F. Hajakbari, M.M. Larijani, M. Ghoranneviss, M. Aslaninejad, A. Hojabri // Japanese Journal of Applied Physics. – 2010. – V. 49. – № 9R. – P. 095802-1-095802-6. DOI: 10.1143/JJAP.49.095802.
8. Kolaklieva, L. Pulsed laser deposition of aluminum nitride films: correlation between mechanical, optical, and structural properties / L. Kolaklieva, V. Chitanov, A. Szekeres, et al. // Coatings. – 2019. – V. 9. – I. 3. – Art. № 195. – 16 p. DOI: 10.3390/coatings9030195.
9. Afonso, C.N. Pulsed laser deposition of thin films for optical applications / C.N. Afonso, J. Gonzalo // Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research Section B: Beam Interactions with Materials and Atoms. – 1996. – V. 116. – I. 1-4. – P. 404-409. DOI: 10.1016/0168-583X(96)00078-X.
10. Dhunna, R. Structural and optical properties of AlN Si / system / R. Dhunna, C. Lal, V. Sisodia, et al. // Materials Science in Semiconductor Processing. – 2008. – V. 11. – I. 4. – P. 126-130. DOI: 10.1016/j.mssp.2009.05.003.
11. Szekeres, A. Structural characterization of AlN films synthesized by pulsed laser deposition / A. Szekeres, Z. Fogarassy, P. Petrik, et al. // Applied Surface Science. – 2011. – V. 257. – I. 12. – P. 5370-5374. DOI: 10.1016/j.apsusc.2010.10.043.
12. Shimahara, Y. Fabrication of deep-ultraviolet-light-source tube using Si–doped AlGaN / Y. Shimahara, H. Miyake, K. Hiramatsu, et al. // Applied Physics Express. – 2011. – V. 4. – № 4. – P. 042103-1-042103-2. DOI: 10.1143/APEX.4.042103.
13. Nizhankovskiy, S.V. Thermochemical nitridation of sapphire substrates of different crystallographic orientations / S.V. Nizhankovskiy, A.A. Krukhmalev, H.Sh.-ogly Kaltaev, et al. // Physics of the Solid State. – 2012. – V. 54. – I. 9. – P. 1896-1902. DOI: 10.1134/S1063783412090211.
14. Fukuyama, H. Impact of high-temperature annealing of AlN layer on sapphire and its thermodynamic principle / H. Fukuyama, H. Miyake, G. Nishio, S. Suzuki, K. Hiramatsu // Japanese Journal of Applied Physics. – 2016. – V. 55. – № 5S. – P. 05FL02-1-05FL02-5. DOI: 10.7567/jjap.55.05fl02.
15. Huang, C.Y. High-quality and highly-transparent AlN template on annealed sputterdeposited AlN buffer layer for deep ultra-violet light-emitting diodes / C.Y. Huang, P.Y. Wu, K.S. Chang, et al. // AIP Advances. – 2017. – V. 7. – I. 5. – P. 055110-1-055110-6. DOI: 10.1063/1.4983708.
16. Miyake, H. Preparation of high-quality AlN on sapphire by high-temperature face-toface annealing / H. Miyake, C.H. Lin, K. Tokoro, K. Hiramatsu // Journal of Crystal Growth. – 2016. – V. 456. – P. 155-159. DOI: 10.1016/j.jcrysgro.2016.08.028.
17. Miyake, H. Annealing of an AlN buffer layer in N2–CO for growth of a high-quality AlN film on sapphire / H. Miyake, G. Nishio, S. Suzuki, K. Hiramatsu, H. Fukuyama, J. Kaur, N. Kuwano // Applied Physics Express. – 2016. – V. 9. – № 2. – P. 025501-1-025501- 4. DOI: 10.7567/APEX.9.025501.
18. Hagedorn, S. Stabilization of sputtered AlN /sapphire templates during high temperature annealing / S. Hagedorn, S. Walde, A. Mogilatenko, et al. // Journal of Crystal Growth. – 2019. – V. 512. – P. 142-146. DOI: 10.1016/j.jcrysgro.2019.02.024.
19. Gillinger, M. Impact of annealing temperature on the mechanical and electrical properties of sputtered aluminum nitride thin films/ M. Gillinger, M. Schneider, A. Bittner, P. Nicolay, U. Schmid // Journal of Applied Physics. – 2015. – V. 117. – I. 6. – P. 065303-1-065303-5. DOI: 10.1063/1.4907208.
20. Девицкий, О.В. Морфология и оптические свойства пленок AlN на сапфире / О.В. Девицкий, Д.А. Никулин, И.А. Сысоев, В.Б. Осипян // Научно-технический вестник информационных технологий, механики и оптики. – 2019. – Т. 19. – № 6. – С. 1049-1057. DOI: 10.17586/2226-1494-2019-19-6-1049-1057.
21. Девицкий, О.В. Исследование изменения морфологии поверхности лейкосапфира пучком ионов аргона под малым углом падения к поверхности / О.В. Девицкий, О.Г. Дмитриева, Д.А. Никулин, И.В. Касьянов, И.А. Сысоев // Научно-технический вестник информационных технологий, механики и оптики. – 2019. – Т. 19. – № 5. – С. 848-854. DOI: 10.17586/2226-1494-2019-19-5-848-854.